The Milk Men-Holy Cow!- Album Review-Planetmosh

The Milk Men

Reviewed by:
On 22 April 2024
Last modified:22 April 2024


The Milk Men have not lost their bottle as they return with their 5th studio album Holy Cow!

The Milk Men return, delivering a brand new, self released gold top rated album Holy Cow! on Friday, May 3rd 2024.

It’s not quite ten green bottles standing on the wall, but they smash their way through ten speaker rattling songs of raunchy rhythm and blues, including a couple of laid back tracks to .

Opening track, and also the first single taken from the album is ‘One Man Band’ that has an instantly hummable main riff that hurtles towards soaring choruses. It’s a party starting and finishing rabble rouser with added lashings of sweet soul.

‘Hungover’, second single, captures their rockier side as this ballsy tune highlights the morning after the night before consequences. Powerful bass lines pin down this raise your fist in the air warning of too much partying, ending on AC/DC like bombast.

It’s time to play that funky music as ‘Give A Little Love’ is a sharp little ditty that bounces with aplomb as a lead vocal is delivered with a melodic rasp.

More raunch comes from ‘Wild Girls’, with a refrain of wild girls carry guns and knives, guns and knives are what the wild girls carry. It’s full of doo wop vibes, ending on an ethereal guitar solo outro.

I was getting a lot of Rolling Stones in ‘Easy Touch’, as lean mean rock and roll riffing adds muscle towards gritted teeth delivered choruses but a precisely picked guitar solo steals the spotlight.

‘Bad News Blues’, another rowdy rocker, flies out of the traps on snappy snare drum prowess. Heaven sent choruses, a grinding main riff and silky smooth backing vocals make for my favourite song here.

The quality never wavers an inch as ‘Fill Her Shoes’. It’s a short but still sweet heartwarmer for a guitar charged up ballad with balls.

A song of beauty but also of lost love sums up ‘Fool For Loving You’ that brings the album down a few notches for a soul dripped tearjerker and wistful guitar lines.

‘Misty Road’ has insistent grooves that are a force of nature, picking up pace to be joined by a vocal that could charm the birds from the trees, turning on its axis for a thrilling guitar laden outro.

This near perfect album closes with ‘Dont’ Trust My Life’. Four minutes float by on a reminiscing vibe, tugging at the heartstrings once more by a poignant vocal and shimmering guitar. Stunning!

Currently on an extensive UK headlining tour from March-December, promoting the Holy Cow! album, some dates are already sold out, so catch them while you can!

Band info, including a pre-sale album link is here :-

The Milk Men band line up :-

Jamie Smy – Lead Vocals.

Adam Norsworthy – Guitar.

Lloyd Green – Bass Guitar.

Mike Roberts – Drums.

Holy Cow! album track listing :-

One Man Band.


Give A Little Love.

Wild Girls.

Easy Touch.

Bad News Blues.

Fill Her Shoes.

Fool For Loving You.

Misty Road.

Don’t Trust My Life.

Lead singer Jamie Smy adds, “I see this album as having a number of core themes which could all be bracketed under ‘The Blues’ in terms of subject matter, if not musically.”

The Milk Men have not lost their bottle as they return with their 5th studio album Holy Cow!

About Dennis Jarman

Full time downtrodden album/gig reviewer and part time rock God!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.