Poltergeist – Feather Of Truth


Reviewed by:
On 25 June 2020
Last modified:25 June 2020


An excellent lesson in Thrash, top of the class

Thrash Titans Poltergeist return to wreak havoc with their fifth Metal offering titled ‘Feather Of Truth’

The importance and longevity of the Thrash genre to the Metal world can not be over emphasised, whilst it may have dipped in popularity in the late 90’s, early 2000’s, its resurgence over the last twelve to fifteen years has been nothing short of phenomenal. Such returns to favour can often mean a swamping of the market in terms of bands and product but even so, when it’s done right, there is still nothing finer

Poltergeist have always delivered, and this album is certainly no exception. From the opening frantic chords of ’Time At Hand’, the band certainly seem on top form, so when they launch into the brilliant ’Saturday Night’s Alright For Rockin’, you can settle back and enjoy the journey, safe in the knowledge that all is well

The band know what a winning formula is, and as such don’t throw in any major curve balls to upset the tried and tested. However, there are plenty of twists and turns along the way to keep things fresh and interesting, the title track for example has a more subdued vocal approach in general, and also features some really enthralling guitar work to lift the grandiose elements. Thrash is king though, and when ’The Attention Trap’ melts through your speakers, you can’t help but break into a huge grin. ’The Godz Of The Seven Rays’ is a standout track in my eyes, epic riffs that constantly build against a really melodic and catchy background, pure joy. The devastating onslaught of ’The Culling’ is also worth a mention, featuring some jaw dropping drumming, and a flawless and catchy chorus

As an album for the Thrash purist, this will surely tick many if not all the right boxes, powerful in its delivery, superbly put together with copious amounts of melodic twists and angles that all add up to a brutal summer soundtrack

Also worth mentioning that the album comes in a really cool gatefold sleeve vinyl edition should you fancy it

Recommended Track – The Attention Trap

Track Listing;

  1. Time At Hand
  2. Saturday Night’s Alright For Rockin’
  3. Feather Of Truth
  4. The Attention Trap
  5. Phantom Army
  6. The Godz Of The Seven Rays
  7. The Culling
  8. Megalomaniac
  9. Ambush
  10. Thin Blue Line
  11. Unholy Presence (Bonus)
  12. Notion (Bonus)

Line Up;

André Grieder – Vocals
V.O. Pulver – Guitars
Chasper Wanner – Guitars
Ralf Winzer Garcia – Bass
Reto Crola – Drums

The album is released via Massacre Records on July the 3rd


An excellent lesson in Thrash, top of the class

About Simon Bower

Rock/Metal junkie living in beautiful Anglesey.Love live music and have a musical taste which can go from Cannibal Corpse to Kate Bush in the blink of an eye.