Ryan Hamilton and the Harlequin Ghosts ‘Nowhere to Go but Everywhere’

Ryan Hamilton & The Harlequin Ghosts – ‘Nowhere To Go But Everywhere’ Album release date: September 18, 2020

Singer/songwriter Ryan Hamilton was just putting together the finishing touches to the band’s second album ‘Nowhere To Go But Everywhere’ for Stevie Van Zandt’s ‘Wicked Cool’ label. When he got a phone call announcing their debut had just won an Album of the Year award at the Independent Music Awards. Deprived of attending the ceremony in New York in person owing to the global pandemic, Hamilton was understandably thrilled nonetheless:

Ryan said  “To win an Independent Music Award for Album of the Year is, of course, an incredible honour. To win is enough. When you look at the list of judges and see revered artists and heroes such as Tom Waits, Tracy Chapman, Robert Smith… I mean… That’s something else! But damn it woulda been fun to go celebrate in NYC! Haha. Oh well, we’ll just have to win it again next year ;-) “

As with their debut, ‘This Is The Sound’, the new album was recorded using both Hamilton’s home studio in Texas and that of Producer Dave Draper’s in the UK. In fact, the bulk of the album was laid down whilst Hamilton was in the UK on his solo acoustic tour in February 2020, mere days before the global pandemic was declared. 

Subsequently stuck at home alone on lockdown back in Texas, with the album finished and summer of UK festivals understandably transplanted to 202. Hamilton found himself with time on his hands. Connecting remotely with Producer Draper and fellow musicians in lockdown in the UK and France, the Country EP ‘Incommunicado’ was born. Released without prior warning in May 2020, it swiftly became Hamilton’s first number 1 album (iTunes Country Chart).

Proceeds from sales of the EP were donated to the Music Venue Trust’s ‘Save Our Venues’ campaign, a movement very dear to Hamilton’s heart from constant touring of the UK.

Ryan Hamilton

Nowhere to go but Everywhere Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Dave Draper

Ryan Hamilton – Vocals, Acoustic Guitar
Mickey Richards – Drums
Rob Lane – Bass

Additional Musicians:
Dave Draper – Guitars, Keys & Programming
Kay Hanley – Backing Vocals ‘Oh No’
Emily Ewing – Backing Vocals
Dave Little – Pedal Steel
Ryan Taylor – Hammond & Keys
Carol Hodge – Piano ‘Southern Accents’
Ben Marsden – Slide Guitar

Backing Vocals
Mike Peters ‘Jesus & John Lennon’
Beth Macari ‘Newcastle Charm’
Lesley Stanbury ‘Newcastle Charm’

Gang Vocals
Mike Peters, Nick Parker & The False Alarms, Project Revise, Anton Cederlund, 
Ben Marsden, Rory Hebbleworth, Dave Draper, Rob Lane 

Here’s a handy link to pre-order the album, and/or pre-save it on Spotify, iTunes etc…


Ryan Hamilton

About Alex English