Rizon – Masquerade (cd)

Originally forming when the band was still in school back in 1977, this Swiss based band have steadily progressed working on perfecting their own “sounds”.

With this latest release, Rizon appear to be finally hitting the heights that have eluded them for so long and all the hard work and patience is finally paying dividends.

Developing a distinctly European sound similar to Sonata Arctica, Tarot or Kamelot, this melodic act seamlessly merge elements of European power metal with sweeping symphonic verses and epic epic rock choruses.

Combing the dual, complementary  male and female vocal partnership of Matthias Götz and Seraina, this Swiss act have managed to pull off the difficult task of keeping the sound finally balanced producing standout tracks such as “Same Same “, “Out of Nowhere”, “Time after Time”, “Lost in Silence” and “Bells”.

The track “El Dios” seems very out of place on the album and does not fit in.
Highlight of the cd: “Out of Nowhere”
Rating: 8/10

Track listing:

1. High Flyer;
2. Sigh from Eternity;
3. Masquerade;
4. Tears of the Sun;
5. Remotion;
6. Same Same;
7. Rise On;
8. El Dios;
9. Out of Nowhere;
10. Cold Winters Night;
11. Time after Time;
12. Lost in Silence;
13. Bells;

Seraina – Vocals (female)
Matthias Götz – Vocals
Mark Wietlisbach – Guitar
Tom Lindegger – Drums
Christian Götz – Guitar
Jim Dodd – Bass
Marco Küderli – Keys


About lee

Freelance Journalist/Photographer. Covers Liverpool/North West of England.