The Terraces – The Terraces

Hailing from England and the working class suburbs of Melbourne, Australia, The Terraces are a no-nonsense punk rock act fronted by one of the legends of the punk era itself.

I had the pleasure of reviewing their first single, “Union”, a few weeks back on the site and having now had a good listen to the album can safely say the other tracks on it come together to make a great foot stomping, fist pumping slugger of an album.

I love it when albums grab you by the balls right from the off and with the opening track, “The Internationals”, kicking off The Terraces self titled release, it does that right from the start and doesn’t stop. It’s no surprise this will be their next single following on from the anthemic “Union”. It’s another suitably anthemic dose of punk rock that will go down a storm live. The Terraces can mix it up though, and prove it with the reggae come ska tinged “Care About Nothing” following on from the opener, while the rockier commercial tones of “25 Years” drive it on and feel like a real coming of age story, full of optimism and enthusiasm. “The Hustler” by comparison, is pure infectious punk at its best and probably my favourite track on the album.

After the anthemic “Union” the album throws the rock into overdrive with the Oasis styled “Short Back and Sides” that just brings to mind mid to late nineties British indie with strong punk undertones, “Dundas Street” lulls you into a false sense of security before it kicks in and onwards into the foot stomping duo of “What Can I Say” and “Lets Go”. “Victoria” finishes the album in rock out style, complementing everything that has come before it perfectly.

The album in general has shades of American commercial punk rock like Green Day, but has that absolutely unmistakable British tinged vitriol and black humour shining through in Gary Buckley’s vocals, showing all his experience and strength befitting his legendary status. The commercial edge to the tracks on the album mean that it should also appeal to a much wider audience than just those with an interest in punk. I’m actually finding myself being transported back to the early nineties and being among the crustys, the grebos, the goths, the psychobillys, punks et al and my time at University listening to Carter USM, Neds Atomic Dustbin, The Shamen, Nirvana, etc… alright, I know some of them aren’t punk (although Carter and Nirvana definitely had Punk influences) but that’s the way this album makes me feel. It’s like a nostalgia trip back to better days of having fun and not having a care in the world.

Throughout the album there’s great guitar work that proves you don’t need sweeping arpeggios, fast fret fingers or otherwise to make a damn fine song. In fact, the raw and straightforward approach is incredibly refreshing and sets The Terraces stall out to say “this is what we do and if you don’t like it it’s not our problem” and they do it so well you can’t help but like it.

It’s refreshing when you’re so used to reviewing metal bands trying so hard to make the most complicated riffs around that a band lay it on the line so simply yet succinctly. Short, sharp, catchy punk rock with an aggressive line in vocals. Yeah, it’s damn good.

The album is due to be released under Blast Records towards the end of May and has been preceded by the release of “Union” while second single, “The Internationals”, is set for release later in the year to run alongside the band’s debut UK and European Tour.

Check out the video for “Union” here

Rating: 9/10

Track Listing:
1. The Internationals
2. Care About Nothing
3. 25 Years
4. The Hustler
5. Union
6. Short Back and Sides
7. Dundas Street
8. What Can I Say
9. Lets Go
10. Victoria

The Terraces Are:
Gary Buckley – Vocals
Dean Tsolondres – Bass
Brenton Perry – Guitar
Henry Hollingsworth – Drums

About Scott Watson

Part time guitarist and wannabe rock star. Long time lover of metal, xbox, football and my family while writing and editing for