The Oxford Coma – Adonis

the oxford coma - adonisThe Oxford Coma come from Phoenix, Arizona and describe themselves as “Progressive psychedelic grunge”.  The band formed in 2011, and in 2012 raised the funds to record their debut album via a Kickstarter campaign.

Progressive Psychedelic Grunge is an interesting description and one that could mean almost anything really.  Listening to the album the grunge roots are certainly clear to hear with the distorted guitars, and the Progressive bit is also quite clear – this album certainly isnt just another grunge record, it’s far beyond that and the progressive element adds a lot to it, giving the band a more unique sound.  The Psychedelic element is harder to pin down, but songs such as ‘Mime’ probably fit the bill with the complicated swirling melodies.

It’s not an album that is as imemdiately accessible as some – to get the best out of this album you do need to listen to it a few times, but it’s well worth the effort.

Rating: 6.5/10

‘Adonis’ is out now.

Track listing:

1. Elipsis
2. BBS
3. Last to die
4. Rim liquors
5. Mime
6. Seven
7. Stall 3
8. Adonis
9. Lictosy
10. Pirate song
11. Ether moths
12. Peregrine
13. Ghosts of departed quantites

The Oxford Coma are:

Billy Tegethoffi – Guitar & Vocals
Casey Dillon – Drums
James Willaims – Bass & Vocals

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.