Supersonic Blues Machine – Road Chronicles: Live!

Supersonic Blues Machine

Reviewed by:
On 24 June 2019
Last modified:24 June 2019


Supersonic Blues Machine have released two studio albums and are now releasing their first live album. It was recorded during their show in Brugnera, Italy on 20th July 2018 and the band were unaware that it was being recorded, so what you hear here is just how they played every night of the tour. The show was the last night of the tour

With Kris Barras on guitar and lead vocals having replaced Lance Lopez, Fabrizio Grossi on bass, Alex Alessandroni Jr. on keyboards, Kenny Aronoff on Drums, Serge Simic on guitar and Andrea and Francis Benitez Grossi doing backing vocals and ZZ Top star Billy F Gibbons joining for some songs there’s a great lineup on stage. The setlist includes songs from both the Supersonic Blues Machine albums plus some ZZ Top songs

Some bands would have invited loads of guests along to be on a live album, and Supersonic Blues Machine have plenty of choices since Billy F. Gibbons, Walter Trout, Warren Haynes, Robben Ford, Eric Gales, Joe Louis Walker, Steve Lukather, and Chris Duarte have all played with the band either in the studio or on stage, but that’s not the sort of album this is – this is a real, every night of the tour type of live album.

It’s a great album from start to finish, but for me, when Billy F Gibbons joins them on stage and kicks off “La Grange” that’s a really fantastic moment and the band do a fantastic rendition of the song. From there the album just stays at a high, with “Running whiskey” being another stand-out track.

A fantastic live album that’s equally appealing for fans of Supersonic Blues Machine and ZZ Top.

“Road Chronicles: Live!” will be released on 12th July 2019 via Provogue/Mascot Label Group

1. I Am Done Missing You
2. I Ain’t Fallin’
3. Remedy
4. Can’t Take It No More
5. Watchagonnado
6. Elevate
7. Bad Boys
8. Let It Be
9. La Grange (Feat. Billy F Gibbons)
10. Broken Heart (Feat. Billy F Gibbons)
11. Dust My Broom (Feat. Billy F Gibbons)
12. Running Whiskey (Feat. Billy F Gibbons)
13. Got My Mojo Working (Feat. Billy F Gibbons)
14. Going Down (Feat. Billy F Gibbons)

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.