NEURASTHENIA – “Possessed By Your Omen”

Italian Thrash Metal kings rework past classics for a storming, riotous new album.

Formed in 2004, from the ashes of Animalator, the band have been around for some time now, scoring really good reviews for their live shows and their album releases. And indeed it is to two of those releases that we can focus on, namely “Possessed” (2009) and “Your Omen” (2009) . Both these albums were well received in their own right but the band have decided to draw from both the aforementioned and have compiled an amalgamation of the two, not just content with re-releasing the material, we have here a completely reworked, remastered and remixed gem.

From the offset of opening track “When Nightmares Come True” the bar is set really high, a rip roaring, riff laden monster that encapsulates all that is good in the Thrash genre. Followed by “I’m Walking With A Zombie” ( my personal favourite) the album continues to grow, believe me, this track is the mother of all party Thrash anthems. Another stormer, “Fell Possessed”, changes the tempo slightly, and by that I mean from full tilt to merely extremely fast, even including some keyboards for good measure.

This record is quite simply, faultless, leaving me scratching my head as to why this band aren’t right up there with the big boys. You just have to listen to tracks such as “Go Fuck Themselves” for confirmation that here lies a band brimming with talent and energy, a band who are able to produce some of, if not the finest Thrash Metal that your ever likely to hear. “Assassination” does just that, with a mighty riff that pummels your lugholes to a mush. The only blip on the whole album comes on closer “I Love It Loud”, a cover of the Kiss classic, and whilst I’m sure this would be a live favourite, it doesn’t seem to sit well with the rest of the bands self penned material, as good a cover as it is mind.

I’ve listened to Thrash since the early 80’s, and to be honest I can’t remember hearing a better album than this, if you’re a fan of the genre then please make the effort and add this one to your collection, trust me, you will not be disappointed.

Rating 9/10.

Track Listing;
1. When Nightmares Come True.
2. I’m Walking With A Zombie.
3. Fell Possessed.
4. No Politics.
5. Screaming Corpse.
6. Go Fuck Themselves.
7. Assassination.
8. Thrash Is Back In Town.
9. Your Omen.
10. The Last Order Of God.
11. I Love It Loud. (Kiss cover).

Neil – Vocals and Guitar.
Lehmann – Bass Guitar.
Rudy – Drums

“Possessed By Your Omen” is out now via Spider Rock




About Simon Bower

Rock/Metal junkie living in beautiful Anglesey.Love live music and have a musical taste which can go from Cannibal Corpse to Kate Bush in the blink of an eye.