Mongrel – Reclamation

Americal female fronted punk band Mongrel come from theBoston (Massachusetts) area..  They were founded in 2003, and have toured extensively, playing with bands such as FEAR, Blitzkid, Trashlight Vision, Michale Graves, and shared stages with the MISFITS, GWAR, Korn, Otep, Prong, Wednesday13, Luchagors, Fu Manchu, Psychostick, Dizzy Reed (Gn’R), Piggy D (Rob Zombie) and many more.

To date they have released one full album (2006’s “Fear, lies & propaganda”), and three EP’s – “Revenge” (2009), “The new breed of old school” (2010), “Declamation” (2011).  Now they’re back with their new album – “Reclamation”.

I first heard this band when they released their Declamation EP whoch I thoroughly enjoyed, so I was looking forward to hearing the new album.

The traditional punk attitude is clear throughout the album, whether its the lyrics – for example “Kill all the fakes, kill all the wannabes” in “Pseudocide” or the song titles “Fuck off and die” or “No gods no masters”

Jessica’s snarling angry vocals work perfectly with the power in the music.

If you like Punk then Mongrel are definitely worth a listen.  If you’re a metalhead I’d still recommend checking them out – good punk has a lot in common with metal, and Mongrel certainly have a foot in both genres.

A great album:  7.5/10

Mongrel are:

Adam Savage – guitar
Jessica Sierra – vocals
Micah Maltais – bass
Dave Kazukiewicz – drums

Track listing:

1. Bored to death
2. Pseudocide
3. Fuck off and die
4. Zombies of war
5. The more I bleed
6. Tarnished halo
7. C and a half
8. Crucifiction
9. Revisionist
10. Stillborn saviour
11. Wake up
12. No gods no masters

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.