MaYaN – Quarterpast (CD)

In early 2010 versatile musician Mark Jansen (Epica) started a project together with keyboardist Jack Driessen and guitarist Sander Gommans (both ex-After Forever) to produce some heavy and technical death-metal combined with Jack’s trademark symphonic arrangements. After writing some music together, Sander couldn’t find the time to go for it anymore. Mark then asked guitarist Frank Schiphorst (Symmetry, Christmas Metal Symphony), if he was interested in filling the gap. And he was.

This album combines neck-wrecking technical death-metal riffing with huge melodic symphonic parts on thunderous drums topped by Mark’s complex and thought-provoking lyrics through his brutal in-your-face grunts and screams.

With the collaboration of guest vocalists; Floor Jansen, Simone Simons, Henning Basse and Laura MacrÃ. It certainly stands out from other albums in its genre.

MaYaN and Epica will perform the biggest show up to date in Paradiso, Amsterdam the 19th of May 2011. MaYaN will present the debut cd “Quarterpast” live to the audience.

Quarterpast is due for release on 23 May 2011 and available for pre order from, and other reputable sources.

Highlights include – Course Of Life, Bite The Bullet and Sinner’s Last Retreat.


Album rating 8/10


Track Listing

1. Symphony Of Aggression

2. Mainstray Of Society – In The Eyes Of The Law: Corruption

3. Quarterpast

4. Course Of Life

5. The Savage Massacre – In The Eyes Of Law: Pizzo

6. Essenza Di Te

7. Bite The Bullet

8. Drown The Demon

9. Celibate Aphrodite

10. War On Terror – In The Eyes Of The Law: Pentagon Papers

11. Tithe

12. Sinner’s Last Retreat – Deed Of Awakening

About Sheila

Former Editor, Team Co-ordinator as well as PR, news poster, pass requester, Ex-Scottish Team Leader for PM since 2011 \m/ \m/ Also owner of the infamous Garfield L'arpie, who is a official mascot of RACPA UK. Check out RACPA UK (Rock Against Child Pornography and Abuse UK)