LANDFALL: ‘Elevate’ – second album by Brazilian melodic rockers 

Frontiers Music Srl is pleased to announce the upcoming release of ‘Elevate’, the second album by Curitiba, Brazil-based melodic rockers Landfall. Out on 9th December, a first single and video from it entitled ‘Two Strangers’ is available now.

The group’s hybrid of melodic rock/AOR can perhaps best be described as falling somewhere between classic era Journey and slightly heavier influences such as Dokken, White Lion and Extreme. With phenomenal musical and songwriting abilities and benefitting from the golden voice of singer Gui Oliver, Landfall has been a welcome addition to the melodic rock genre.

“This new record definitely sums up the essence of who we are as a band,” states guitarist Marcelo Gelbcke. “Being our second album, we were much more comfortable creating this music, and I think our personalities as musicians are much more apparent this time. As a group, we are currently living in such a great moment and this has been reflected in our new music.”

Lead singer and lyricist Gui Oliver also believes that the group’s new songs are stronger than ever and capture the best of its members. “We know exactly what we want to say and the music we want to play. Also, Marcelo and Felipe [Souzza, drums] were meticulous in every detail of the production, creating a special atmosphere for the songs.”

Souzza adds: “Even before we wrote the first seed of a song, we knew what we should focus on and where to go. As we’re self-producers, what you hear is exactly how we wanted to sound. Powerful tones with well-built foundations and harmonies and really catchy melodies.”

Childhood friends Souzza and Gelbcke have been playing music together since their mid-teens. Bassist Thiago Forbeci eventually hooked up with them and added new musical input and influences, at which point they released three independent albums under the name Wild Child and performed shows in their home territory that included opening slots for Glenn Hughes and Mike Vescera. 

Joined in 2017 by the former Auras singer Gui Oliver, the newly christened Landfall began writing songs that would become their debut album ‘The Turning Point’, released in 2020 via Frontiers. Having previously written songs for artists on the label’s roster including Jimi Jamison, Bobby Kimball, Fergie Frederiksen and Issa, Oliver recalls that “I was really glad to be back with Frontiers in a new band with new songs and a fresh perspective. When I met the guys for the first time, I was really impressed by what gifted musicians they were. I knew we could make some great music together.”

During the period between the two Landfall albums, Gelbcke co-created the first album by Icon of Sin, which was a tour de force of heavy metal featuring Brazilian vocalist Raphael Mendes. Oliver also released a killer slice of melodic rock/AOR as Mayank with Alessandro Del Vecchio (Edge Of Forever, Hardline), Rolf Nordström (Perfect Plan) and Nicholas Papappico (Robin McAuley).

new album
out 09.12.22


includes the single

1  Never Surrender
2  Two Strangers
3  Waterfall
4  Rescue Me
5  Heroes Are Forever
6  Elevate
7  Feels Like Summer
8  H.O.P.E.
9  Shadows Of Love
10  The Wind
11  Chance To Destiny

Gui Oliver – vocals
Marcelo Gelbcke – guitars
Thiago Forbeci – bass
Felipe Souzza – drums 

About Alex English