GOTUS:’Gotus’ – debut album by Swiss quintet featuring members of Krokus and Gotthard

Gotus will release a self-titled debut album on 19th January 2024 via Frontiers, with a first single from it entitled ‘Take Me To The Mountain’ available from today. Describing the song, guitarist Mandy Meyer (Krokus, Unisonic, ex-Gotthard, Katmandü and Asia) alludes to philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche in stating “I climb upon the highest mountains, laughing at all tragedies – whether real or imaginary. This track encapsulates the essence of Gotus’ music.”

Formed in 2019, Gotus initially emerged as a live project conceived by Meyer and drummer Pat Aeby. The band, boasting current and former members of Swiss rock giants Krokus, Gotthard and Storace, regrouped in 2022 after a pandemic-induced hiatus with a solidified line-up that includes frontman Ronnie Romero, bassist Tony Castell (ex-Krokus, Crystal Ball) and keyboardist Alain Guy to create a dynamic and powerful quintet. The rhythm section had played a pivotal role in one of the most successful periods of Krokus’ career with the 2003 album ‘Rock The Block’, which topped the Swiss chart, while Meyer’s subsequent return after more than two decades away had further solidified their powerhouse line-up.

‘Gotus’ delivers heartfelt hard rock that showcases the evolution and musical maturity of each band member. It not only pays homage to Meyer’s extensive discography with stellar renditions of the classics ‘When the Rain Comes’ (Katmandü) and ‘Reason to Live’ (Gotthard), but explores new terrain with tracks like ‘Beware Of The Fire’ and ‘Weekend Warriors.’ The album also features epic power ballads such as ‘Without Your Love’ and ‘Children Of The Night,’ plus the captivating opener and new single, ‘Take Me To The Mountain.’


debut album
out 19.01.24


includes the single

1  Take Me To The Mountain
2  Beware Of The Fire
3  Love Will Find Its Way
4  Undercover
5  Weekend Warriors
6  Children Of The Night
7  When The Rain Comes
8  Without Your Love
9  What Comes Around Goes Around
10  Reason To Live
11  On The Dawn Of Tomorrow

Produced by Alessandro Del Vecchio, Patrick Aeby, Mandy Meyer

Mandy Meyer – guitars
Ronnie Romero – vocals
Pat Aeby – drums
Tony Castell – bass
Alain Guy – keyboards

Facebook  |  Instagram

About Alex English