Firewind – Few against many

“Few against many” is the new album from Greek band Firewind.  Perhaps best known to many music lovers for their extremely talented guitarist, Gus G, who as well as playing in Firewind is also guitarist for Ozzy Osbourne.  That connection means Gus G has had a busy time recently as he does shows with both bands and records an album with Firewind.  Melodic rock fans may also know Firewind keyboard player Bob Katsionis as the man behind melodic rock band Outloud.

Opening with “Wall of sound” gets the album off to a great powerful start

“Edge of a dream” features a guest appearance from Apocalyptica.  Opening with a piano introduction, this is a slow acoustic track, and the cello’s of Apocalyptica work superbly well giving a rich full sound to support the vocals.

After the gentle sound of “Edge of a dream”, “Destiny” kicks the pace and volume back up.  It’s a much faster guitar driven track and contrasts well after the cellos of Apocalytpica in the previous track.

As you’d expect we get some excellent guitar work courtesy of Gus G, and this combines with great vocals, rich keyboards that complement and fill out the sound, and this combined with well written songs makes this a fantastic album.

After listening to the album regularly over the last few weeks I can confidently say that this is the best Firewind album yet – it’s superbly good.  Definitely an album worth buying.

The album will be available as standard version CD, LP and digital download as well as in a limited edition Digipak with 2 audio bonus tracks.

“Few against many” will be released on 21st May via Century Media.

Rating 8.5/10

Firewind are:

Apollo Papathanasio – Vocals
Gus G. – Guitars
Petros Christo – Bass
Bob Katsionis – Keyboards, additional Guitars
Jo Nunez – Drums

Track listing:

1. Wall Of Sound
2. Losing My Mind
3. Few Against Many
4. The Undying Fire
5. Another Dimension
6. Glorious
7. Edge Of A Dream
8. Destiny
9. Long Gone Tomorrow
10. No Heroes, No Sinners

Bonus tracks (digipack version)

11. Battleborn
12. No heroes, No sinners (acoustic)

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.