Aventyr – Driven

aventyr - drivenNorwegian band Aventyr were formed in 2001 before splitting in 2004.  In 2008 they reformed with a new lineup, and in 2011 they released an EP – Trouble.  In 2012 they recorded their debut album, which was then mixed and mastered by Beau Hill in the US and was released earlier this year.

I must admit that with the band being Norwegian and past members coming from bands including Taake and Funeral I’d expected this to be a very heavy album, so I was quite surprised when I put the CD on and heard what I’d have assumed was a Swedish band – it’s got a Backyard Babies or Bulletboys kind of sound to it – great rock music.

I’m really surprised these guys aren’ better known – with their great hard rock sound they deserve to be far better known.  If you’re a fan of bands such as Backyard Babies then I’d definitely recommend checking this album out.

Rating: 8.5/10

Track listing:

1. Driven
2. Betrayed
3. Trouble
4. Tomorrow
5. Torpedo
6. Crazy roads
7. Outside
8. Delirious
9. Empty bottles
10. Wanted

Aventyr are:

Roger Olsen – Vocals
Jan Tore Befring – Guitar
Steinar Aven – Guitar
Roger Pettersen – Bass
Trond Vilnes – Drums

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.