Anvil – Hope In Hell

ANVIL Hope in Hell PRINTAnvil began their comeback in 2007 with the self released album This Is Thirteen, the recording of which featured on their acclaimed film  The Story Of Anvil which introduced them to a completely different audience than  they are usually associated with. The doubters wondered if they could keep going as a 3 piece following the departure of guitarist Ivan Hurd but  they were proved wrong in 2011 with the release of Juggernaut Of Justice, one of their heaviest and consistent albums since their groundbreaking Metal On Metal way back in 1982.

So here we are in 2013 with another line up change. Just over a year ago following the departure of long standing bassist Glenn “G5” Gyorffy, Sal Italiano was brought in to help in with tour commitments leading to his permanent position in Anvil and he has certainly rejuvenated them judging by live performances and the quality of material on the latest Anvil album Hope In Hell. It contains 11 tracks of solid heavy metal with a dash of melody and existing Anvil fans will lap it up. Whether it finds new fans remains to be seen but the band have never changed their style for commercial gain and are too long in the tooth in the music business to do so now!

Hope In Hell will be released once again via SPV/Steamhammer records in 4 formats; a ltd edition digipak with 2 extra tracks ( Hard Wired and Fire At Will ), a jewel case cd, a dbl gatefold sleeved coloured vinyl and a digital download. It was written straight after an 18 month world tour fueling Anvil to compose firing on all cylinders. Release dates are May 24th in Germany, May 27th in Europe and May 28th in North America. As on Juggernaut Of Justice, production duties are handled by Bob Marlette and Hope In Hell sounds a lot darker than its predecessor and contains some of Anvil’s heaviest material.

Anvil’s desire to use the title track as opener has not been changed as the album starts on a high with the grinding riff of Hope In Hell, a signature Anvil heavy metal stomper in the vein of Forged In Fire and This Is Thirteen with a menacing vocal by Lips and contains one of his many scorching guitar solos on the album. Other highlights are the melodic speed metal of Eat Your Words with Lips’ guitar solo based around the main riff and drummer Robb Reiner sounding as if he is covering every inch of his kit. Through With You is a slow burner, the main riff sounding a bit like Smoke On The Water with an intense chugging breakdown around the guitar solo midway.

The Fight Is Never Won has a killer riff reminiscent of Paper General off their Strength Of Steel album and is certain to be a future live favourite with an ott guitar solo backed by some manic riffing. Flying is based on their non stop touring cycle with a simple but effective chorus and Lips solos throughout the song. Mankind Machine is my personal favourite on Hope In Hell with its heavy, stuttering riff backed up by yet more colossal drum patterns and driving bass from Sal Italiano. Album closer Shut The Fuck Up surges along on tempos akin to Show Me Your Tits from their Absolutely No Alternative album. It is a mid paced chugger with a catchy chorus which will certainly not get any radio play, which was probably the last thing on Lips’ mind when he penned the lyrics. Hope In Hell is easily one of Anvil’s strongest releases in many years to my ears and where there is Hope In Hell there will be hope for Canadian heavy metal.

The 2 bonus tracks are Hard Wired, a pedal to the floor power metal headbanger and Fire At Will has a tempo like Flying Blind from the This Is Thirteen album and both these tracks are as strong as any on Hope In Hell and bode well for the next studio album!


Anvil line up :-                                                                                                                                                               IMG_3343

Lips – Guitar/lead vocals.

Robb Reiner – Drums.

Sal Italiano – Bass guitar.


Hope In Hell track listing :-

Hope In Hell.

Eat Your Words.

Through With You.

The Fight Is Never Won.

Pay The Toll.


Call Of Duty.Anvil Logo BlackRed

Bad Ass Rock And Roll.

Time Shows No Mercy.

Mankind Machine.

Shut The Fuck Up.

Bonus tracks on digipak :-

Hard Wired.

Fire At Will.

About Dennis Jarman

Full time downtrodden album/gig reviewer and part time rock God!