It’s Aerosmith, Biffy Clyro and System of a Down for Download Festival 2017!

The road to Download 2017 has begun, with the festival announcing its first batch of bands that will take to the stage at the hallowed turf of Donington Park next year, including all three Main Stage headliners.

Aerosmith, Biffy Clyro and System of a Down will top the bill over the three day bonanza that is now into its 15th year, with Slayer, Prophets of Rage, Rob Zombie, Five Finger Death Punch, AFI, Of Mice and Men, Sleeping with Sirens, Motionless in White, Simple Plan, Every Time I Die, The Story So Far and Fozzy also confirmed to play across the weekend.

System of a Down are returning to Download for the first time since 2011 to tear things up again with their schizophrenic style of nu-metal that has been played across rock club dancefloors for years. Biffy Clyro are coming off the back of their #1 album The Wolves of Winter, making their return to Donington after five years and their first headline slot there. Aerosmith, on the other han, need no introduction whatsoever and are back after their bombastic set in 2014 where they filmed the quite excellent ‘Aerosmith Rocks Donington’ DVD. It will also be their only UK show of 2017.

Download Festival takes place from 9th – 11th June next year. Tickets go on sale at 10am tomorrow morning, Friday 4th November. For more information on all other aspects of the festival, visit See you down the front!

About Elliot Leaver

PlanetMosh's resident Iron Maiden fanboy and Mr. Babymetal. Also appreciates the music of Pink Floyd, Rammstein, Nightwish, Avenged Sevenfold, Slipknot and many others. Writing to continue to enjoy life away from the stresses of full-time employment.