Suicide of Demons – A New Beginning

Released on 1 October 2011 ‘A New Beginning’ is the second album from the Belgian death metal band, Suicide of Demons.   Formed in 2005 by brothers Fern and Jo, their first self-produced  album ‘Before Our Eyes’ was originally released in 2008 and sold over 1000 copies prior to being re-released in Europe in 2010, after the band signed a record deal with an independent label.   Over the past few years, the band have played festivals alongside Cradle of Filth, Samael, Dagoba and Born from Pain as well as winning the Concours Circuit rock/metal contest in Belgium.

So, for the many of you that may not have heard of Suicide of Demons, what is their music like?  In a word; heavy.  The new album starts of very melodically with a slightly creepy sounding music box sound, that builds up leading you nicely into to the main part of the album.  ‘I thought you said heavy’ I hear you say, and yes I did; believe me, this is metal!  The songs are full of shredding guitars, heavy drumming and hard vocals.  ‘The Fear Remains Unknown’ and ‘Invisible  Wings’ are both good examples.  My personal favourites are ‘Evil You’ and ‘Save Me’ (which reminds me of Anthrax ‘Antisocial’ during the chorus).

There is also a well thought melodic element to the album, which is especially noticeable on ‘My Only Sacrifice’.  This song switches track to combine the usual heavy vocals with singing in the chorus, and a well-chosen addition of female backing vocals to give extra lift.

Simply put, this is a good album and one that would be great to hear live, especially the last song ‘Till Dawn’ which is over 11 minutes long.

I give this album a very high recommendation!


Track List

01- From dusk…
02- Invisible Wings
03- Your Best Nightmare
04- A New Beginning
05- My only sacrifice
06- The Fear Remains Unknown
07- Evil-you
08- Save Me
09- In The Trench
10- Revived enemy
11- …till dawn


About Rowena

Interviewer, Reviewer, Radio DJ (Metal Nymph Presents) and Digital Media Wizard at Planetmosh.