SONIC SYNDICATE: Video ‘Before You Finally Break’ featuring SOILWORK’s Björn ‘Speed’ Strid

Sonic Syndicate
Sonic Syndicate

Anglo-Swedish modern metallers SONIC SYNDICATE have premiered the official music video for ‘Before You Finally Break’, taken from the band’s upcoming self-titled, fifth studio album. The video was shot by renowned director Patric Ullaeus (IN FLAMES, DIMMU BORGIR, CHILDREN OF BODOM, uvm) and features SOILWORK singer Björn ‘Speed’ Strid who recorded guest vocals on the track. Check it out here:



Singer Nathan James Biggs commented on the collaboration:

“I’m honoured to call Speed a friend. I’ve been a big SOILWORK fan for years. Those guys were a massive hand in crafting that trademark Swedish sound so it made perfect sense to ask Speed when we knew we wanted to do a song with guest vocals. Performance wise I think we have similar styles and execution, but at the same time we both have our own thing going on so the voices compliment each other to great effect. My idea was also to have a real battle between our vocals. I hate it when you have these “featuring” songs and the guest just pops up for a chorus and then does backing vocals for a while in the verse or something. This is a real fight between us for the mic and I’m sure people are gonna appreciate that.”


Bjorn ‘Speed’ Strid adds:

“Working with Sonic Syndicate is always a pleasure, whether it’s in the studio, tour, or in a cool looking abandoned car shop in the industrial area of Gothenburg. I loved recording vocals on this song and especially being able to do somewhat of a duet with Nathan Biggs. He’s a truly talented singer and a good friend. Doing the video was easy, fun and pretty intense at the same time. It turned out real sick.. Check it out!”


The self-titled release will be in stores on July 7, 2014 via Nuclear Blast. Main songwriter, guitarist and founding member, Robin Sjunnesson commented on the new album:

“We decided to go with this one as a ‘Self-Titled’ release. Mainly because as an album we have put everything we’ve got into it. All of our experience as musicians, the evolution of the music, the sound from all eras of the band, and also the road we have taken as people. This is us, this is Sonic Syndicate in all its beauty and destruction. It shows our strength, our love for melody, our scars, our energy. The cover art is a definite representation of that. In the background, a battle-torn city laid to waste, four figures emerging together with only each other to depend on in an environment so harsh, only those with a tough heart, body and soul can survive. The tone throughout this album is definitely darker and as my Swedish family would say, ‘with a red-line running in the middle’ so we put this into the colour-scheme. We could not be more proud of this album and we thank our fans for the support, it’s because of them that we’re here. This album is for you.”


Sonic Syndicate tracklist:

01. Day Of The Dead
02. Black Hole Halo
03. Long Road Home
04. My Revenge
05. Before You Finally Break (feat. Speed/SOILWORK)
06. Catching Fire
07. Unbreakable
08. It Takes Me
09. See What I See
10. So Addicted
11. The Flame That Changed The World

12. Diabolical Work Of Art
13. What We Shared
14. Another Soldier Down


Pre-order the album:


Order the first single from the album, ‘Black Hole Halo’:
Amazon MP3:

Watch the first album trailer:



Watch the second album trailer:



Watch the third album trailer: | |

About Linda Heron

London Photographer and News Editor for Planet Mosh.