SLYDER SMITH & THE OBLIVION KIDS debut single/video ‘When The Rain Comes’

The UK power rock trio, SLYDER SMITH & THE OBLIVION KIDS (feat. Members of Last Great Dreamers), have released their debut single and music video ‘When The Rain Comes’ taken from their debut album ‘Charm Offensive‘

The album, produced by Pete Brown (George Harrison, Siouxsie & the Banshees, Marc Almond, The Smiths and Sam Brown), will be out on 19th August 2022 through Ray Records on 12” black vinyl, digipak CD and digital, distributed worldwide via Cargo Records and will be backed by a 12 date UK tour as special guests to Swedish groove rockers Electric Boys.

The video can be viewed here:

When The Rain Comes is prime-time radio, a summer road movie soundtrack, a highly melodic, charming, and commercial pop song. With its solid rock foundation, jangly rhythm guitars, and an assured vocal delivery, this upbeat, catchy earworm’s melodic lead guitar hook lines and singalong choruses will be in your head for days; scratch the surface though and you’ll find there is a darkness there too. When The Rain Comes has this year’s summer hit written all over it!”  

Slyder Smith first swaggered onto the stage as lead guitarist with glam-tinged power popsters, Last Great Dreamers. After releasing four studio albums and one live album on Ray Records, & having toured extensively throughout the UK & Europe with LGD, Slyder now takes centre stage leading new power trio, Slyder Smith & The Oblivion Kids (Tim Emery, Bass and Rik Pratt, Drums) in an honest outpouring of grit, glamour and emotion.

Stepping out of the shadows and into the spotlight, the self-confessed ‘frustrated lead singer’ has been forced to delve deep into his own psyche, carefully crafted lyrics and melodies that speak from the heart. Slyder’s emotive vocals are powerful, yet melancholic, the perfect balance of light and shade sitting effortlessly within the sonic landscape of his varied rhythm guitar sounds and highly melodic & anthemic lead lines. Stage left, Slyder is joined by Tim Emery, a towering enigma, whose stylish bass lines are the only thing to outshine his impeccable apparel and at the back sits the Oblivion Kids’ powerhouse and beat master, Welshman, Rik Pratt. A man of few words but whose presence is palpable in this rock-steady rhythm section.

But this is no ordinary guitar-based rock album; together with producer Pete Brown (George Harrison, Siouxsie & the Banshees, Marc Almond, The Smiths and Sam Brown), Slyder has allowed the songs to dictate the direction they have gone in; discovering melodies and hook lines along the way. Making use of Hammond organ and piano with the help of Neil Scully (Richard Davies & the Dissidents), a 1950s Phillicord organ, lap steel guitar & even a bit of banjo. A chocolate box of sonic sensations offering up a little something for everyone – from heavy riffage with walloping drums akin to the brothers Young to the anticipated sleaze rock shades of Hanoi Rocks.

However, this band is not afraid to step away from their rock roots, instead, with nods to the likes of The Doors, Velvet Underground, The Stranglers and The Kinks from the past and the alternative rock sound of Manic Street Preachers, The Oblivion Kids have reimagined an 80s synth pop classic and mastered singalong pop, gothic, dark Americana, and dare I say it, funk rock?!

There are a few firsts for Slyder on here too in the form of an instrumental track with a western feel to a duet featuring the ethereal vocals of Nina Courson (Healthy Junkies). The result is an idiosyncratic 14-track album of outstanding versatility.  

A Charming debut, I’m sure you’ll agree. “This album has been a real labour of love for me, I’ve really put my heart & soul into it. Over the last year or so I’ve been working very hard developing my guitar playing, music & lyric writing pulling myself in all sorts of directions, and really stretching myself. I feel I have accomplished what I set out to do, create songs from the heart in no specific genre & perform them to the best of my ability on the record. I guess for years I have been a frustrated lead singer so I have relished the opportunity to showcase what I can do vocally too.” – Slyder Smith –

Track listing:
1. El Encantador
2. Calico Queen
3. I’m Done
4. When The Rain Comes
5. Crash Landing In Teenage Heaven
6. I Don’t Want To Run
7. Maya
8. Pleasure Victim
9. Road Love
10. Hope Without Warning
11. NeverEnding Story
12. Oblivion Kids
13. El Encantador (Reprise)
14. No More Mr. Bad Guy

On the strength of the new recordings, Slyder has also just signed a publishing deal with Cherry Red Songs… “I’m really hopeful that with Cherry Red’s help we will find plenty of opportunities for my new music to be used commercially.”

On May 2nd Slyder Smith & The Oblivion Kids played their live debut on the main stage at HRH Ibiza Road Trip and went down a storm in front of a packed house opening the 5-day rock festival!

The band one further single & video release in the summer & will perform their UK debut show In London at Pump It Up – Power Pop Weekender on Sun July 3rd followed by a demanding schedule of live dates including a 12 date UK tour as special guests to Swedish groove-rockers The Electric Boys in Aug/Sept to coincide with the release of the album.

Further headline & festival live dates are planned for the rest of the year in UK & Europe. Pre-order the album here:

About Alex English