PLAGUE VENDOR: Debut LP ‘Free To Eat’

Plague Vendor
Plague Vendor

Epitaph is proud to announce that Plague Vendor will release their intrepid debut album Free To Eat on April 14.


Plague Vendor’s gritty brand of rock was birthed by four friends with a predilection for dark tones and instinctual playing in their hometown of Whittier, California. The name was inspired by a Mexican folk tale that members Brandon Blaine (vocals), Michael Perez (bass) Luke Perine (drums), Jay Rogers (guitar) had read, with the first written songs recalling narrative elements of the story. Early shows were raucous and treacherous, with a sense of shock value, making it clear that Plague Vendor was peddling something formidable.


After a number of house parties, sullied club gigs, and warehouse shows under their belts, Plague Vendor quickly became synonymous with wild nights, bad decisions, and good times. Fearless front man Brandon Blaine channels the kinetic energy of a brooding, young Nick Cave on stage, with bassist Michael Perez, guitarist Jay Rogers, and drummer Michael Perez providing the pummeling instrumentation.


Now fully fleshed out and poised to release their inaugural album, Free to Eat, on Epitaph, Plague Vendor embrace multiple sensibilities at once, veering rapidly from aggressive thrash to melodic introspection, compressing the range of human experience into ten rapid-fire, in-your-face songs. Everything was recorded live in the studio, using only two or three takes, and no overdubs were added to the songs. A shadowed, dark vibe flows throughout the tracks, and for Blaine, the words are important. The songs say something worthwhile, revealing subconscious interpretations of the musicians’ experiences and ideas.


Plague Vendor is an undeniable force, simultaneously dangerous and comforting, and predicated on the meaning its own name invokes.


Free to Eat is available for pre-order now at:






Watch The Video For ‘BLACK SAP SCRIPTURES’ Here:


Listen Here:


Free To Eat Tracklisting:

01. Black Sap Scriptures

02. Curses Love, Hexed Lust

03. Breakdance on Broken Glass

04. My Tongue is So Treacherous

05. Numbers

06. Plague Vendor

07. Finical Fatalist

08. Seek the Ruby Scarab

09. Garden Lanterns

10. Neophron Percnopterous




About Linda Heron

London Photographer and News Editor for Planet Mosh.