Morre ‘Morphine’ cd review

Consisting of Adrian Tonceanu (Vocals/Guitars), Igor Lazebnik (Vocals/Guitars), Tyler Koch (Drums/Backup Vocals) and Tim Young (Bass/Backup Vocals), Morre have been kicking around since 2008, they hail from Toronto, and this will be their third release.
With their feet very much in the Classic rock camp, they bring an updated feel to this genre, with a sound that is almost unique, Adrians smoky-lounge vocal style complements Igor’s raspy melodic voice all help to showcase the different side’s to the Morre sound.
‘House On The Hill’ opens up this opus with an eastern flavour, this takes a bit of getting used to at first, but works really well.
I then discover that this is a running theme throughout the record, with the use of different instruments, Harmonica, Fluke, Mandolin and what sounds like a kettle drum to create a lush landscape of musical diversity.
The rest of the record stands up well, with Morre carving a nice niche for their music to slot into, full of chunky riffs, finger picking solo’s, coupled with their laid back, straight shooting rock style, they bring a sense of fun to their music.
There are 13 songs on this album, maybe unlucky for some, but lucky for you if you’re already a Morre fan.
Letting Go is the stand out track for me, a Morre take on a classic rock song, with delicate picking, a glorious chorus, a thumping rhythm section and full of emotive playing.

This is a Classic rock album played with heart, soul, and a lot of fun, I can’t fault it, 9/10

1. House On the Hills (a Soldier’s Letter)
2. Mountain High
3. Stand By You
4. Who Will Wait
5. Remedy
6. Stay
7. Wind Beneath My Wings
8. Under the Sun
9. She Moves
10. Run
11. Hold the Candle
12. Letting Go
13. The Curse

Adrian Tonceanu (Vocals/Guitars)
Igor Lazebnik (Vocals/Guitars)
Tyler Koch (Drums/Backup Vocals).

About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at Manager of The Goddanm Electric, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.