Mockingbird – Fresh Cuts (ep)


Mockingbird are a 3-piece hard rock/blues rock band from the southern coasts of Ireland. Formed by Ian O’ Sullivan and brothers Noel and Phil Cunningham in 2010, the band represents a coming home of sorts for these three musicians. Having played in numerous different bands over the years and experimented with different types of music, the three guys came together to combine their love of old school rock and blues music.


With an out and out classic rock opening track “Movin On” sets the scene for this five track rocktastic e.p with its nwobhm influenced riffs and guitar work and its classic inspired vocals reminiscent of a young Thin Lizzy.


“All That I Need” follows on in the same vain reminding me of The Ian Gillan Band, before “Steal Your Heart Away” kicks in with a slightly more bluesy feel to it, not too dissimilar to AC/DC or Rhino Bucket and has more of a traditional drive time rock ballad feel.


“Hard Rain” continues the blues feel, before a live version of “Movin’ On” finishes the e.p off in fine form, demonstrating the bands live prowess.


Overall this is a cracking e.p and will please rock enthusiasts everywhere.  With bands of this quality coming through the future of rock is in safe hands.

Highlight of the cd: “Movin’ On”

Rating: 9/10

Track listing:

1. Movin On;
2. All That I Need;
3. Steal Your Heart Away;
4. Hard Rain;
5. Movin’ On (Live bootleg)



Ian O’Sullivan – Guitar, Vocals
Noel Cunningham – Bass
Phil Cunningham – Drums


For more information check out the bands Official pages:





About lee

Freelance Journalist/Photographer. Covers Liverpool/North West of England.