Reviewed by:
On 4 May 2019
Last modified:4 May 2019


A great album - highly recommended.

JOANovARC release their new album at the end of May. The self titled album is their fourth album and follows several EPs and debut album “Ride of your life” as well as “Live in the studio” and their covers album “Under the covers”.
Formed in 2004 as a trio, the band became a four-piece in 2009 and since then have been busy touring not just in the UK but around the world. and in the last few years they’ve been busy recording and releasing material. For this album the band launched a Pledgemusic campaign which reached it’s goal within a week although it remains to be seen if the band will ever see the money they’re owed.

Check out the video for the first single from the album, “Jane”…

On this album you’ve got songs about denial, rejection, loyalty, drug addiction, looking back to when you were younger, not wanting to admit mistakes, and more. It may sound like a fairly heavy, almost depressing list of subjects but it really isn’t like that to listen to thanks to the songs being so well written.

It took me a couple of listens to really get into this album – it’s not quite as straightforward rock and roll as their earlier work, but once I got used to their new sound it’s really grown on me to the extent I think this is their best work yet. There’s lots of energy in the music and it’s a great album to listen to.

Despite having wanted to see JOANovARC play live for a few years now I always seem to be unable to get to one of their live shows and having listened to this album a lot over the last few weeks I want to see them live even more. I’ve heard nothing but good reports about their live shows both in terms of their on-stage performance and also how nice they are to talk to afterwards. Hopefully it won’t be long till I get to see them live as I’m sure these new songs will sound absolutely fantastic played live.

A great album – highly recommended.

JOANovARC will be released on 31st May 2019

Track listing:

1. Burning
2. Waiting for
3. Down by the river
4. People coming up
5. Take it out
6. When we were young
7. Try it on
8. Jane
9. This way
10. Slipping away
11. Go home

A great album - highly recommended.

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.