Gun – Break the Silence CD

Scottish rockers Gun are back with their new album ‘Break the Silence’. This is their first full length release in 14 years! ‘Break the Silence’ was recorded in Wales at Rockfield Studios and produced by Dave Eringa, who has worked with bands like The Manic Street Preachers and Ocean Colour Scene. It will be released on the 2nd July via earMusic Record Label.

Opener ‘Butcher Man’ starts the album off in a great rock style. This track is filed with the distinctive Gun groove and beat! ‘14 Stations’ continues along in a similar style, classic foot tapping rock, catchy choruses. Then we go into ‘Lost & Found’ reminds me of the softer side of GnR- Lies tracks, vocal and style wise! Yet another rocking track on which also has some hallmarked Gun riffs through out it.           

‘Caught In the Middle’ has a slightly softer pop feel to it, whilst still containing lots of great riffs, bass lines. Title track ‘Break the Silence’ brings a more electronic sound into the album, think back to similar style to Ultravox era, right at the start of this track before continuing on in a pop/rock vein.

‘How Many Roads’ is a ballad style track that has a slower pace and features female backing vocals which gives it a nice balance. Next up is ‘No Substitute’ this has a good groove to it, same as ‘Bad Things’ it has a very catchy pop punk rock feel style to it, you’ll toes will be tapping along to these two tracks.

We now flow nicely into ‘Innocent Thieves’ another great track with a great groove style and beat, its similar to track 3 Lost & Found’ vocal wise and feel. ‘Running Out of Time’ is slower paced rock track. This brings us to the final track ‘Last Train’ we move up tempo and go out on at rocking track filled with rocky riffs, beats, that you expect from Gun!

‘Break the Silence’ is a solid well produced rock record. The sound is clear so you can easily pick out all the different instruments and vocals. This is an album packed with their own unique style of oodles of foot tapping beats, rocking riffs and bass lines combined catchy choruses, which linger once you’ve stopped listening to the album all with their

All these tracks should work well live, I’ve always preferred Gun live, than on album so looking forward till next time I see them and hearing the new songs.


Rating 8/10


Track listing:

Butcher Man

14 Stations

Lost & Found

Caught In the Middle

Break the Silence

How Many Roads

No Substitute

Bad Things

Innocent Thieves

Running Out of Time

Last Train



Dante Gizzi – vocals
Jools Gizzi – guitar
Derek Brown – bass
Paul McManus – drums




Click on the link below to listen to 90 seconds of each track on the new album “Break The Silence

About Sheila

Former Editor, Team Co-ordinator as well as PR, news poster, pass requester, Ex-Scottish Team Leader for PM since 2011 \m/ \m/ Also owner of the infamous Garfield L'arpie, who is a official mascot of RACPA UK. Check out RACPA UK (Rock Against Child Pornography and Abuse UK)