Flyleaf – Between The Stars

album by:

Reviewed by:
On 30 September 2014
Last modified:30 September 2014


...there is a real positive energy about the songwriting and delivery of each of these songs...

Flyleaf - Between The Stars
Flyleaf – Between The Stars

Female fronted, multi-platinum American rockers Flyleaf are back with their fourth studio album. Their first since former vocalist and founding member Lacy Sturm left the band in 2012. “Between The Stars” is due for release via earMUSIC/Loud & Proud Records in November 2014.

Opening with a rhythmic fuzz filled bass line, ‘Set Me On Fire’ is the first single to be taken from the album and quite possibly the perfect introduction to new vocalist Kristen May. Taking inspiration from Veronica Roth’s novel ‘Divergent’, it’s a song about love, life, beauty and finding yourself along the way.

If fact these are themes that are prominent throughout, and there is a real positive energy about the songwriting and delivery of each of these songs. That’s not to say everything on here is sunshine and rainbows, ‘Blue Roses’ takes on the darker subject of domestic violence and ‘Traitor’ is a brooding rocker about the betrayal of friendship.

City Kids’ is a striking and haunting song that tells a story of long lost love and the frustration of  regret. It is perhaps the darkest sounding song of all on offer; it is also the most ballad like song on the record. The vibrato guitar effect is seems so simple but adds a huge amount of atmosphere to the song, making it a real highlight of the album.

As with previous Flyleaf releases, I can imagine some of these songs doing well extremely well commercially in TV shows or movie soundtracks. ‘Between The Stars’ stays true to a winning formula that has seen them yield a fair amount of success in the U.S.
May’s vocals, are strong and carry the songs well, though to my ears they lack just a little bit of the individual quirkiness of previous vocalist Lacy Sturm. That being said, this is a first class radio-friendly rock album that I would be more than happy to spin. It would also be a most welcome change to the ‘X-Factor’ type pop-production line wannabe crap we currently get on our mainstream radio in the UK/Ireland, and with this release it would be great to see them break into the mainstream & continue to build on their success on this side of the pond.


Track Listing: 

  1. Set Me On Fire
  2. Magnetic
  3. Traitor
  4. Platonic
  5. Head Underwater
  6. Sober Serenade
  7. Thread
  8. Marionette
  9. Well Of Lies
  10. City Kids
  11. Blue Roses
  12. Home
  13. Avalanche (Bonus Track)
  14. Ship Of Fools (Bonus Track)
  15. Tied To The Broken (Bonus Track)
  16. City Kids (Live) (Bonus Track)
  17. The Hunted (Bonus Track)
  18. The wedding (Bonus Track)

Band Lineup:
Kristen May – Vocals
Sameer Bhattacharya – Guitar
Jared Hatmann – Guitar
Pat Seals – Bass
James Culpepper – Drums

Band Links:

...there is a real positive energy about the songwriting and delivery of each of these songs...

About Paul Verner

After a number of years learning the ropes with local newspaper photographers, shooting gigs, sports events and school photography, I took the plunge in March 2012 and branched out to begin LIVE:i photographic agency, with the aim of providing quality event and commercial photography for a range of clients.