Fate – Ghosts from the past cd.

Danish band Fate are a band that has been through plenty of lineup changes since the band first formed in 1984. After almost ten years, several lineup changes and several album releases, the band split in 1993. The band then reformed in 2006, and since then have had yet more lineup changes, released a new album (“V”), and are now ready to release their latest album – “Ghosts from the past”
Peter Steincke is the only member of the band remaining from the bands 1980’s incarnation.
So this is really a new launch pad for Peter, yet keeping the name Fate for fans old and new, who after listening to this, will hopefully go out and buy the back catalogue.

The first track “Children of the night” opens with some 80s keyboard sounds before the guitar kicks in, this is a great guitar driven melodic rock song.
However, while this is a Melodic rock release, Fate do stray into melodic metal terriotary, with some surprising good results, however the pointless guitar shredding does get a bit boring after a while.

“Seeds of terror” is a slightly heavier guitar driven track and is the first song on the album to do without a keyboard intro, but is let down by even more unwanted and un-needed guitar shredding.

“Follow your heart” is a slower track, the almost mandatory ballad if you like. Now this has plenty of great guitar work with minimal shredding, so Fate can do a great song.

As this is a new band, I feel they are just finding there feet, and I think the next release will be better, more tempered in the guitar department, with better use of keyboards, if they want to go the Melodic Rock route, yet this record does leave the door open for them to return with something far more heavier.
It’s a tough one to score this, but overall it’s a 7/10.

“Ghosts from the past” was released on 28th November 2011 through AOR Heaven.

Fate are:

Dagfinn Joensen – Vocals
Jens Berglid – Drums
Mikkel Henderson – Keyboards
Peter Steincke – Bass
Torben Enevoldsen – Guitar

Track listing:
1. Children of the night
2. Miracle
3. Seeds of terror
4. Fear of the stranger
5. At the end of the day
6. All that I want
7. Follow your heart
8. Daddy’s girl
9. Moving on
10. Murder
11. The last time
12. I believe in rock n roll
13. The other side

About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at planetmosh.com. Manager of The Goddanm Electric www.thegde.co.uk, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Hammerfest.co.uk. Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.