Epica, ‘Requiem For The Indifferent’ cd review.

Ever since bursting on to the Metal scene in late 2002, Epica have always strived to create thought provoking and technically intricate compositions culminating in their previous release ’Design Your Universe’, which many thought would be the pinnacle of their career.
To their immense credit the band haven’t rested on their laurels with latest offering ’Requiem…’, nor indeed have they tried to create a ’Design…’ part 2, this album see’s the sound stripped back to enhance and project the emotional aspect of the music whilst still maintaining that trademark Epica feel.
Simone Simons’ voice comes across stronger than ever due to her being involved earlier in the writing process this time around which demonstrates her continuing development as a singer, moving from soft atmospheric to full blooded operatic with an ease very few can match.
The album draws on the many current world crisis both man made and natural for it’s theme non more so than on the title track, the band never ones to embrace the fantasy mantle that many others in this genre do. Flowing from brutal Death Metal tinged riffs, to epic orchestral pieces to acoustic this is a record that has it all, indeed this is surely Epica’s most complete work to date. As with previous releases you won’t get the full picture after a single sitting, this demands your continued attention for a long time before you can feel you’ve begun to understand it’s complexity , at over 70 minutes in length, it’s a lot to absorb in a short time, and will grow on you with each and every listen.
An absolute must for all fans of symphonic Metal but more over a must for all fans who appreciate superb composing and musical talent.

Rating 9.5/10.

Track Listing.

1. Karma.
2. Monopoly On Truth.
3. Storm The Sorrow.
4. Delirium.
5. Internal Warfare.
6. Requiem For The Indifferent.
7. Anima.
8. Guilty Demeanor.
9. Deep Water Horizon.
10. Stay The Course.
11. Deter The Tyrant.
12. Avalanche.
13. Serenade Of Self-Destruction.

Out now via Nuclear Blast.

About Simon Bower

Rock/Metal junkie living in beautiful Anglesey.Love live music and have a musical taste which can go from Cannibal Corpse to Kate Bush in the blink of an eye.