Entropy – E3 Album Review

Toronto Metal band Entropy are somewhat underground legends in the thrash scene, having released two albums on their own independent label in the 90s, Ashen Existence and Transcendence, to much acclaim. Fast forward some twenty years and they have returned with their new album, E3.

Now this, this really is like stepping back in time to when life was all about having fun, not worrying about the future and just thrashing mad! There’s a wonderful renaissance taking place in the world of thrash just now and it’s great to see bands once thought disappeared making a welcome return.

Entropy are one of these bands and one I knew of by name only back in the day. They are deliciously old school thrash, harkening back to blinding riffs, thumping drums, wailing vocal howls and sweaty, monstrous mosh pits interspersed with moments of atmospheric calm and crazy-assed time changes.

E3 is only Entropy’s third album but their heritage and history stand out hugely with this release. “Means to the End” and “Premonition” immediately bring to mind the best of this era while “Bloodrites” draws you in with its power and aggression.

I have to say though, favourite on the album is “Succubus” due to its malevolent, evil riffage. It’s brutal with some real sludgy almost stoner like guitar work that brings to mind echoes of Sabbath. “Nightmare Extraordinaire” continues with an evil intent of its own thanks to some off-beat timing and fantastic drumming from Louis Levesque while Gerry Schreinert screams his way through the chorus

“Encryption” and “Darkness Eclipsed” round off the album, although I say round off they share the best part of twenty minutes between them. “Encryption” brings to mind shades of Toxic Waltz and Cowboys from Hell before it descends into a heavy grind that sees the track out. “Darkness Eclipsed” by comparison has wonderfully mellow acoustic work, complete with haunting solo before it kicks in. It’s a fitting end piece to the album, giving Entropy a chance to show the full extent of their skills as musicians.

There’s a great homebrew feeling to this album that brings out the raw power of Entropy and I hope it’s not so long before we see another album on the horizon.

E3 is available direct from Entropy’s own site at www.entropymetal.com

Rating: 8/10

Track Listing
1. Means to the End
2. Premonition
3. Bloodrites
4. Succubus
5. Nightmare Extraordinaire
6. Encryption
7. Darkness Eclipsed

Entropy Are:
Ger Schreinert – Vocals
Dan Lauzon – Guitar
George Giourgis – Bass
Louis Levesque – Drums


About Scott Watson

Part time guitarist and wannabe rock star. Long time lover of metal, xbox, football and my family while writing and editing for Planetmosh.com