Egonaut – Mount egonaut

egonaut - mount egonautSwedish band Egonaut describe their music as ‘Bastard rock’ – a blend of stoner rock, seventies hard rock and metal.  They released a trilogy of EPs on their own label – Bastard Rock Records, and released their debut album ‘Electric’ in 2011.  Now their second album ‘Mount egonaut’ has just been released.

The 70s are having a big influence on music at the moment with a whole host of bands releasing albums with a 70s influenced sound.  Egonaut have taken the route of blending a 70s hard rock sound with more modern stoner sounds and as a result they’ve got a slightly different sound to most of the other retro acts around.

One thing that Egonaut have in common with most of the other 70s influenced bands is the use of the Organ – there’s nothing like a Hammond Organ to give you that 70s hard rock feel.  Throw in some big heavy guitar riffs and some great vocals and you’re getting an idea of what Egonaut sound like.

It’s a really solid album with no weak tracks, but ‘Careless awaken’ impresses even more than the other tracks – it’s a bit faster paced and the guitar riff reminds me of Uriah Heep’s ‘Easy living’.

A great album for all fans of 70s inspired hard rock.

Rating: 8/10

Track listing:

1. Crawl
2. Kneel or bleed
3. Wasted days
4. Awake
5. Something/Nothing
6. Cursed and damned
7. The fight
8. Loser
9. Careless Awareless
10. Palliation

Egonaut are:

Fredrik Jordanius – Vocals & Guitar
Mikael Bielinski – Bass
Dennis Zielinski – Organs
Markus Johansson – Drums

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.