Dianoya – Lidocaine

dianoya - lidocaineDianoya are a Polish band from Warsaw who formed in 2008.  Their debut album “Obscurity divine” was released in Poland in 2010.  Two years later they have released their second album, “Lidocaine” which has been given a wider release, across Europe and the US.

In recent years there has been a noticeable increase in the number of quality releases coming from Polish bands.  This is a good Prog metal album from Dianoya, and after the success of their debut album there are likely to be plenty of Prog fans awaiting this release with interest.

The music is extremely good and is very atmospheric at times.  The guitar work is complex but also quite restrained so that the guitars are never allowed to overpower the other instruments, but instead work seamlessly to create the desired moods and atmospheres that the songs conjure up.

A good album, but one that doesn’t quite live up to expectations following their debut album.  Despite that it remains an album that Prog fans are likely to enjoy and I’d certainly recommend any Prog fan to check it out.

Rating:  7/10

Dianoya are:

Filip Zielinski – Vocals
Jan Niedzielski – Guitar
Artur Radkiewicz – Bass
Lukasz Chmielinski – Drums

Track listing:

1. Far cry
2. Cold genius
3. 1000G
4. One sided
5. Good news comes after a while
6. Figaro song
7. Best wishes
8. Endgame
9. Nothing in return
10. 21st century
11. Venid

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.