Def Leppard – Hysteria (30th anniversary edition)

album by:
Def Leppard

Reviewed by:
On 7 August 2017
Last modified:7 August 2017


An amazing box set. It's not cheap but it's the version fans will want as it contains so much

It’s exactly thirty years since Def Leppard released their classic album, Hysteria. It’s the album that turned them from asuccessful rock band to mega-stars and is one of very few albums to have ever been certified as Diamond in the US. To be certified Diamon, the album has to sell over 10 million copies – a feat almost no modern artist is likely to achieve in these days of streaming and illegal downloads. With over 12 million sales in the US, Hysteria has sold over 25 million copies worldwide.
It was recorded at a time of huge turmoil for the band with drummer Rick Allen having recently lost his arm (and nearly his life). In fact Joe Elliott says that Rick came close to losing his other arm too. At the time a one-armed drummer seemed impossible, but with the aid of a modified electronic kit and a lot of hard work and determination, Rick Allen was soon back on drums for the band.

The album was a massive hit in the UK and after a slower build-up was huge in the US too, with seven songs being released as singles before the band decided not to release any more. With an album this big it’s a surprise it’s not been given the special edition treatment before, but for it’s 30th anniversary it’s been given the full treatment

There are various formats Available
5-CD / 2-DVD Super Deluxe Edition inc 4 books (Story Of / Ross Halfin Photo Book / Discography / Hysteria Tour Programme) Tour Poster
3-CD Deluxe
2-LP Black Vinyl
2-LP Coloured Vinyl (Limited Edition)

The album has been remastered to ensure it sounds as good as possible, and while it may be expensive (around £75) the super deluxe edition is extremely impressive. As well as the album itself there are 2 CDs full of B sides, remixes and other rarities. Then there are two more CDs, containing the audio for “In The Round In Your Face (Live)” on CD for the first time. The DVDs contain music videos, Top of The Pops appearances and more. On top of all that, there are four books—Story Of, a Ross Halfin photo book, Discography, Hysteria Tour Program, and Tour Poster. All that means that the high price tag is justified as you get plenty for your money and it’s all good stuff.

Yes there are cheaper versions – the 3CD version is nearer £15, but the super-deluxe edition is the one hardcore fans will want and understandably so.

It’s a fantastic re-issue. The range of formats means there is a version to suit most budgets, but if you can afford it then the Super Deluxe edition is a fantastic addition to the collection of any Def Leppard fan.

The band is currently on a sold out concert tour of North America. For more information and dates, please go to

Super Deluxe Edition tracklisting:

CD 1: The original album (remastered)
1. Women
2. Rocket
3. Animal
4. Love Bites
5. Pour Some Sugar On Me
6. Armageddon It
7. Gods Of War
8. Don’t Shoot Shotgun
9. Run Riot
10. Hysteria
11. Excitable
12. Love And Affection

CD 2: B sides & remixes

1. Tear It Down B-Side
2. I Wanna Be Your Hero B-Side
3. Ride Into The Sun B-Side
4. Ring Of Fire B-Side
5. Women Radio Edit
6. Rocket (Lunar Mix) Radio Edit
7. Love Bites Radio Edit
8. Hysteria Radio Edit
9. Pour Some Sugar on Me Radio Edit
10. Armageddon It Radio Edit
11. Release Me Stumpus Maximus
12. Classic Album – Hysteria BBC Radio Documentary

CD 3: B sides & remixes

1. Rocket (The Lunar Mix – Extended Version) B-Side
2. Armageddon It (The Nuclear Mix) 12″ Single
3. Animal Extended Version
4. Pour Some Sugar On Me Extended Version
5. Excitable (The Orgasmic Mix) B-Side
6. Rocket (Lunar Mix) B-Side
7. Rock Of Ages (Live) B-Side
8. Love And Affection (Live) B-Side
9. Billy’s Got A Gun (Live) B-Side

CD 4: In the round in your face (Live)

1. Stagefright
2. Rock! Rock!
3. Women
4. Too Late For Love
5. Hysteria
6. Gods Of War
7. Die Hard The Hunter

CD 5: In the round in your face (Live)

1. Bringin’ On The Heartbreak
2. Foolin’
3. Armageddon It
4. Animal
5. Pour Some Sugar On Me
6. Phil Solo
7. Rock Of Ages
8. Photograph

DVD 1: Visual hysteria

1. Animal TOTP
2. Pour Some Sugar On Me TOTP
3. Rocket TOTP
4. Pour Some Sugar On Me Brit Awards
5. Women Promo Video
6. Animal Promo Video
7. Pour Some Sugar on Me Promo Video
8. Pour Some Sugar on Me US Version Live
9. Hysteria Promo Video
10. Love Bites Promo Video
11. Rocket Promo Video
12. Armageddon It (Live) Promo Video

DISC TWO – Video List
1. Introduction Classic Albums
2. Animal Classic Albums
3. Hysteria Classic Albums
4. Rocket Classic Albums
5. Love Bites Classic Albums
6. Pour Some Sugar On Me Classic Albums
Initial Recordings Of Animal Classic Albums
Rick Gets Hysterical Classic Albums
Hysteria (Acoustic Performance) Classic Albums
Drumming – Return To The Status Quo Classic Albums
The Album According To Joe Classic Albums
Sugar Stripped Down Classic Albums
Pour Some Sugar On Me (Acoustic Performance) Classic Albums
Guitars, Guitars, Guitars Classic Albums
Windmill II And The Gods Of War Classic Albums
Mutt’s Vocals In The Mix Classic Albums
The Album Is Finally Released Classic Albums


An amazing box set. It's not cheap but it's the version fans will want as it contains so much

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.