DEATH ANGEL Reveal Artwork for ‘The Bay Calls for Blood’ Live LP

Thrash veterans Death Angel will release ‘The Bay Calls for Blood – Live in San Francisco’ on LP exclusively through Nuclear Blast mail-order on July 17th. The release will also be made available in the digital format and as a bonus CD with their upcoming DVD entitled ‘A Thrashumentary’. Artwork for the LP version was created by Joey James Hernandez.

Joey James Hernandez has created designs for most of our tour merch over the past few years,‘
commented guitarist Rob Cavestany.
‘We love his style and felt it the perfect fit with this record!‘

Joey is also creating original art for the back cover and poster that will be included. We want to give our fans the full old school album experience with lots to look at while listening to the record, the way we used to check out music back in the day when it was quality over quantity!’

‘We are a Bay Area band – and have always been proud of it.  That’s why we recorded the album here and wanted the art to reflect where we’re from – in a brutal way of course!  It’s a tribute to our home town fans. The City has evolved so much since we were kids growing up here. Unfortunately, swarms of parasites have invaded SF like a disease and are sucking the life out of it in many ways. I envisioned an image depicting the aftermath of the eradication of these dot com techie scums!’

‘The front cover depicts a disintegrated Bay Bridge while in the distance San Francisco lies in ruin. The ominous sky is the color of fire, the water blood red.  The title is written in the blood of victims whose bodies have been dragged down to the second deck of the bridge, where their assailants plot the next attack…’

Adds Joey James Hernandez:

‘I am not used to drawing atmospheres but when the boys at Death Angel asked me to do this, it was a no brainer to do it and challenge myself. Their visuals and music for this reminded and inspired me of Mad Max, Chernobyl Diaries, any bad dream or premonition we have of aftermath, strife and danger that still lurks in its ashes.’

‘A Thrashumentary’
was directed, shot and edited by Tommy Jones (Kataklysm, Soilwork, Lamb Of God, Carcass, Testament) of Videohammer Studios.
It will be released on July 17th via Nuclear Blast Records.

‘A Thrashumentary’ DVD Chapter List:

  1. Start
  2. We Grew Up In The Bay Area Thrash Scene
  3. The Original Lineup Of Death Angel
  4. Kill As One
  5. The Ultra Violence
  6. Frolic In The Park
  7. Act III
  8. The Accident
  9. The O
  10. Swarm
  11. Thrash Of The Titans
  12. I Like Everything About Ted
  13. The Art Of Dying
  14. Killing Season
  15. Relentless Revolution
  16. I’m Looking For Will Carroll
  17. And Then Damien Came In
  18. Relentless Retribution
  19. Impressions Of Suecof
  20. Relentless Touring
  21. Thrashers
  22. Death Angel Is
  23. The Last Song Of The Evening
  24. Credits


  1. Mistress Of Pain Live


‘The Bay Calls for Blood’ Bonus Live Album & Individual LP Track List:

  1. Left for Dead
    2. Fallen
    3. Buried Alive
    4. The Dream Calls For Blood
    5. Execution / Don’t Save Me
    6. Truce
    7. Detonate
    8. Bored
    9. Caster Of Shame
    10. Territorial Instinct / Bloodlust

‘The Dream Calls for Blood’ was recorded at AudioHammer Studios with Jason Suecof (TriviumAugust Burns RedThe Black Dahlia MurderAll That RemainsWhitechapelDevildriver), and once again features cover art by Brent Elliot White (Job For A Cowboy, Carnifex, Whitechapel).

You can pre-order
‘The Bay Calls For Blood – Live In San Francisco’
& ‘A Thrashumentary’
‘The Bay Calls For Blood – Live In San Francisco’ Limited Edition Gatefold Clear Vinyl  
‘The Bay Calls For Blood – Live In San Francisco’ Limited Edition Vinyl
‘A Thrashumentary’ Digipak CD + DVD Limited Edition

Death Angel will be playing a string of UK shows this August.
Dates are as follows:
Aug 4th – Wolverhampton, Slade Rooms
Aug 5th  – Bristol, Marble Factory
Aug 6th – London, The Electric Ballroom
Aug 7th – Brighton, Concorde
(all dates to support Queensryche ex. Wolverhampton)

About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at Manager of The Goddanm Electric, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.