Civil Villains drop another stunner!

CIVIL VILLAINS continue their climb with the release of their hugely fascinatingdebut album, Motion Sick, out Friday 26th May. The Brit alt-rockers have also dropped their intriguing new single and video, Cornerstore – .

Since their formation in 2016, Londoners CIVIL VILLAINS have always had a differing approach from many other artists. Drawing influence from Queens Of The Stone age, Refused, and Fugazi, through to David Bowie and Tom Waits, the alternative trio express a sound that twists genres, and frequently pushes the envelope. Creating a live show that has seen the alt rockers share stages with Listener, Poly-Math, Bellevue Days, Kid Kapichi, and many others, CIVIL VILLAINS also have a strong DIY ethos and unbridled dedication to their art, as demonstrated by their ability to arrange two North American tours (which included headline shows in Toronto and Cambridge, MA), festival performances in Quebec City and New York City, and dates in Seattle and Vancouver.

As well as having an enormous appetite for playing live, the threesome are also acquiring a potent back catalogue of releases. Their debut EP, Snake Oil, was recorded at Bear Bites Horse Studios, and a series of singles were also produced at Brighton Electric with Josh Harrison (Royal Blood). The success of these releases has helped pave the way and lay the base for the band’s debut full-length album.

CIVIL VILLAINS’ incoming new album, Motion Sick, has allowed the trio to fully flourish, demonstrating the broad range of their songwriting expertise. Recorded at Shaken Oak Studios by Mike Bannard (Foals, Glass Animals), the album is the collection of creative undertakings that have circled around the band for many years, carefully constructed and sculpted into a body of work that is utterly inspiring. The record has already racked up glowing support from ERB Magazine, and the album’s first single, Mortuary Blue is an ideal showcase piece illustrating the band’s true quality and artful vigor. Live performances and festival dates will be detailed shortly, so hold tight, and prepare for a strong year for CIVIL VILLAINS.  

Album track listing: 01. Funeral Rouge, 02. Mortuary Blue, 03. Bayou Autonomy, 04. Cornerstore, 05. Elysium, 06. Anaesthesia Whores, 07. Skip Town, 08. Present Tense, 09. Petrichor, 10. Nightbloom, 11. Cavalier Blonde, 12. Never Leave.

About SAN Agency