The Resistance – ‘Rise From Treason’ EP

The ResistanceThe name The Resistance may be a relatively new and unknown one to those not “in the know” on the underground scene – but it’s constituent members are certainly no strangers to the extreme metal scene, being, as they are, former In Flames stalwarts Jesper Strömblad and Glenn Ljungström, ex-The Haunted vocalist Marco Aro and Chris Barkesjö, formerly of Kaamos and Grave.

Brought together by a mutual desire to return to their old school death metal roots, this four track EP is very much a taster for the quartet’s forthcoming debut full-lengther, due in May of this year.  And, if this smaller offering’s role is to whet the appetite for what is to come, then it more than adequately does its job, as it will definitely leave fans baying for more.

The title track, for example, is one of the most destructive, brutal beatdowns I have enjoyed in quite some time, and definitely stands shoulder-to-shoulder with any of the projects in which the guys have been involved before, while both opener ‘My Fire’ – with its surprisingly understated invitation to “swallow this” – and closer ‘Slugger’ feature two of the best DM drum performances to have been laid down in quite some considerable time.

The songs are all extremely well-constructed and imaginative, combining melodic riffs with catchy choruses and punishing rhythms in the best tradition of the genre, showcasing the talents of experienced musicians turning their careers full circle to offer something new and refreshing.

Resistance is futile.  Embrace The Resistance with open arms.


Track list:

  1. My Fire
  2. Face To Face
  3. Rise From Treason
  4. Slugger

‘Rise From Treason’ is released on earMUSIC on January 28th.

About Mark Ashby

no longer planetmosh staff