The Fright – S/T

thefrightWe know what you’re thinking. Horrorpunk? Is that still a thing? Was it EVER a thing? Apparantly so, ladies and gentlemen. In 2013, horrorpunk is still very much in existence. Not in any kind of notable status, mind. The closest any band ever came to making such a specific subgenre a scene was, of course, the lovely Murderdolls, and we all know how that turned out once they went on hiatus. Nonetheless, it appears there are still bands peddling this most ambiguous of sounds – essentially, you could take any style of heavy music, litter in a few “spooky” lyrics, and it fits under the umbrella. Thuringia’s The Fright are just one of these bands. But y’know what? Let go of the cringe and resist the urge to facepalm – this self-titled opus has far more to offer than you may think.

Don’t get us wrong. Musically it is as cliché as they come (think Guns N’ Roses crossed with Danzig and you’ve got your sound) and lyrically it’s even worse, but it’s seldom considered just how difficult it is to write songs this simple and of such a high quality. In the first few moments of album opener ‘Late Night Affections’ you’ll almost certainly find yourself creasing up, but there’ll be a smile on your face. And it’ll be because you’re enjoying it. It’s hard not to admire a band so awash in their own absurdity. The music is dirty, the grooves are sleazy, and there are hooks ALL over the place. There is no technical wizardry to be found on The Fright, just great songs, weighty riffs and massive choruses. And it’s a genuine pleasure to listen to, with ‘Cemetery Of Hearts’ and ‘Beloved Night’ each taking a leaf out of Danzig’s book but executed through a heavier filter. The Fright also pack a hefty dosage of metal into their sound, ‘Midnight Revolution’ and ‘Black Rose’ each carrying some stupendously heavy main riffs with them, juxtaposing wonderfully with the latter-day Avenged Sevenfold stomp of ‘Alive & Dead’ (which features at long last a sprinkling of spooky keys). Hyperbole aside, the album does begin to peter out slightly towards the final half of the album, struggling to keep up with the strength of its first half as ‘Sin City’ and ‘Nightstalker Returns’ incite a disappointing sense of déjà vu and a feeling that the band could’ve done well to shorten the track listing to some degree. The cheese factor saves The Fright as it closes however, the ‘November Rain’-esque ‘Believe In Angels’ serving to remind us not to take this band too seriously.

In spite of how disconcerting their modus operandi may be, it’s hard not to feel your heart warming as you play through The Fright. This is fun music and should be treated as such. This is not a band looking to change the game or change anybody’s life. But the songwriting speaks for itself, and The Fright have songwriting chops in droves.

The Fright is out now via Cargo Records


Track Listing:

1. Late Night Affections

2. Sweet Desire

3. 666 Full Speed Ahead

4. Cemetery Hearts

5. Beloved Night

6. Death Blow Freedom

7. Midnight Revolution

8. Black Rose

9. Alive & Dead

10. Sin City

11. Nightstalker Returns

12. Avenger Of Crow

13. Believe In Angels


The Fright are:

Lon – Vocals

Danny – Guitars

Kain – Bass

Seares – Drums


Band links:

About Del Preston

So there I am, in Sri Lanka, formerly Ceylon, at about 3 o'clock in the morning, looking for one thousand brown M&Ms to fill a brandy glass, or Ozzy wouldn't go on stage that night. So, Jeff Beck pops his head 'round the door, and mentions there's a little sweet shop on the edge of town. So - we go. And - it's closed. So there's me and Keith Moon and David Crosby, breaking into that little sweet shop, eh. Well, instead of a guard dog, they've got this bloody great big Bengal tiger. I managed to take out the tiger with a can of mace, but the shop owner and his son, that's a different story altogether. I had to beat them to death with their own shoes. Nasty business really. But sure enough, I got the M&Ms and Ozzy went on stage and did a great show.