The Damn Truth – This Is Who We Are Now (single)

The Damn Truth

Reviewed by:
On 29 March 2021
Last modified:5 April 2021


You had better believe this damn truth for sure!

So here is yet another episode of “where have this band been all of my life?” as my love of Canadian rock/metal bands continue with Montreal based The Damn Truth.

Their latest single ‘This Is Who We Are Now’ released on March 19th is taken from their upcoming studio album Now Or Nowhere with six of the nine tracks produced by none other than Bob Rock!

The groove of the single strangely reminded me of ‘Shadow On The Wall’ by Mike Oldfield which is no bad thing as the single rushes in on snare drum overload to grab your attention. It takes its foot off the accelerator for the powerchord driven verses that introduce the astonishing vocal range of Lee – La Baum.

Her style reminds me of a mixture of Elkie Brooks and Mama Cass as she switches from lung busting screams to a soothing croon in the blink of an eye. A rich, soulful delivery to say the least.

Anthemic choruses are a statement of intent. Bass guitar is high in the mix and a fretboard burning solo races in at the three minute mark as it ends on a full on shout it loud and proud outro!

Band links are here including a pre-sale link to the album :- | | |​ ​ | | | |

The Damn Truth band line up:-

Lee – La Baum – Lead Vocals/Guitar/Tambourine.

Tom Shemer – Guitar/Keyboards/Mandolin/Tambourine/Vocals.

Py Letterlier – Bass Guitar/Tambourine/Vocals.

Dave Traina – Drums/Vocals.

You had better believe this damn truth for sure!

About Dennis Jarman

Full time downtrodden album/gig reviewer and part time rock God!