Supersonic Blues Machine – West of Flushing, South of Frisco

album by:
Supersonic Blues Machine

Reviewed by:
On 20 January 2016
Last modified:20 January 2016


If you like your Blues mixed with a healthy dose of rock then this album is one you can't afford to miss.

“West of Flushing, South of Frisco” is the debut album from newcomers Supersonic Blues Machine, and it’s one hell of a debut – a stunningly good album featuring plenty of special guests.  Supersonic Blues Machine are Bassist/producer Fabrizio Grossi, Guitarist/singer Lance Lopez and Drummer Kenny Aronoff.  The three members have worked with a host of big names during their careers including Steve Vai, Alice Cooper, Glenn Hghes, Joe Bonamassa and many more.
For this album they’ve been joined by some special guests – Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top), Warren Haynes (Govt Mule), Walter Trout, Robben Ford, Chris Duarte and Eric Gales.


Brief comments on a few tracks….

“Running whiskey” is a song written by Billy Gibbons, who also plays/sings on it.  It’s a fantastic song, and those distinctive vocals definitely give it a ZZ Top feel.  A great blues-rock song.  Check out the video and hear for yourself…

“Let it be” is a slower more mellow song – more blues than blues rock, with some great vocals.  There’s a lovely guitar solo too.  Another great track.

There’s a cover version on the album – the classic “Ain’t no love (in the heart of the city).  Originally by Bobby Bland, and covered most famously by Whitesnake but also by dozens of other artists, this is a song most rock fans will know, and this version really is excellent.

Walter Trout is back after recovering from his serious illness, and as well as having released an album of his own and guested on the new Danny Bryant album, he’s also a guest on this album, on “Can’t take it no more”.  It’s no surprise to learn that the guitar work on this song is stunningly good.

There really isn’t a weak track on this album, but if I had to pick a favourite it would be “Running whiskey”.

When I hit play for the first time after receving this album for review I was expecting something pretty good, but nothing prepared me for just how good this album is – it really is a superb album, and I must confess to neglecting the rest of the reviews I need to do in favour of listening to this album pretty much non stop for the past week.  If you like your Blues mixed with a healthy dose of rock then this album is one you can’t afford to miss.

“West of Flushing, South of Frisco” will be released on 26th February 2016 via Provogue records (part of the Mascot label group)

Track listing:

1. Miracle man
2. I ain’t fallin’ again
3. Running whiskey
4. Remedy
5. Bone bucket blues
6. Let it be
7. That’s my way
8. Ain’t no love (in the heart of the city)
9. Nightmares and dreams
10. Can’t take it no more
11. Whiskey time
12. Let’s call it a day
13. Watchagonnado

If you like your Blues mixed with a healthy dose of rock then this album is one you can't afford to miss.

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.