Stereo Nasty – Nasty By Nature

album by:
Stereo Nasty

Reviewed by:
On 2 August 2015
Last modified:2 August 2015


Ten guitar drenched numbers on the very promising debut studio album from Stereo Nasty.

Stereo Nasty – Nasty By Nature

Some bands treat their debut studio albums as a tentative step in their recording career whilst others go for the throat. Thankfully, County Kildare based quartet Stereo Nasty have taken the latter option with Nasty By Nature.  Early promise was shown by a three track EP just over a year ago (which has been re-recorded and included on the album).

The 80’s metal vibe is still showing with all ten tracks featuring some seismic riffs to get even the most ardent emo fan headbanging, point proven by the Accept like riffs of opener ‘Black Widow‘. It’s crunching main riff from Adrian Foley sets the standard high from the start, topped off with a Blackie Lawless style snarl from Mick Mahon. Other highlights are ‘Holy Terror’ with it’s riff reminding me of ‘Action’ by the Sweet but the song thrashes along like a mid paced Destruction with Mick delivering a Schmier like barked vocal.

‘Interstellar’ has a chugging NWOBHM style riff that dominates on an ‘Orgasmatron’ like groove. Album highlight for me is following track ‘The Fear’ , a true headbanger with some crashing AC/DC like chords in the verses as a melodic break midway is a calm before the storm guitar solo. The aptly titled ‘Death Machine’ is the fastest track of the ten with some turbo charged rhythms and the pace is brought down by the commercially heavy ‘In The Blood’. The three EP tracks close Nasty By Nature in fine style, the pick of the trio being ‘Under Her Spell’ which contains the most intense riff on the album which will stay in your head for days and a tasty wah-wah solo midway will keep the air guitarists happy.

Nasty By Nature is an impressive classic sounding debut that will surely make an impact.

Stereo Nasty band line up :-

Mick Mahon – Vocals.

Adrian Foley – Guitars.

Fran Moran – Drums.

Rud Holohan – Bass guitar.


Album track listing :-

Black Widow.

Holy Terror.


The Fear.

Out Of The Fire.

Death Machine.

In The Blood.

Under Her Spell.


Demon Halo.



Ten guitar drenched numbers on the very promising debut studio album from Stereo Nasty.

About Dennis Jarman

Full time downtrodden album/gig reviewer and part time rock God!