Robert Jon & The Wreck-Red Moon Rising-Album Review-Planetmosh

Digital album :
Robert Jon & The Wreck

Reviewed by:
On 23 June 2024
Last modified:23 June 2024


Robert Jon & The Wreck have consistently delivered groundbreaking music since forming in 2011, point proven by their latest studio album Red Moon Rising.

Yee haw! It’s time to get lowdown and dirty as Orange County, California based Blues rock band and Southern rock band Robert Jon & The Wreck release their ninth studio album Red Moon Rising on June 28th 2024 via Journeyman Records! An old saying of “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” applies to these twelve scintillating songs.

The album opens up with a blast, as ‘Stone Cold Killer’ lives up to its title as a razor sharp riff scythes through an intense lead vocal and lungbusting choruses.

‘Trouble’ is a bare knuckle, drum driven fight bruiser. Sinewy guitar lines and earworm choruses lose the spotlight to a keyboard heavy outro.

‘Ballad Of A Broken Man’ is an early highlight as this poignant song also packs a punch from a teeth gritted lead vocal and deft acoustics.

‘Red Moon Rising’ is an eerie song, but picks up pace for slide guitar heavy choruses.

‘Dragging Me Down’ claws at the listener for some boisterous blues and over the top guitar solos.

The band get heavier for ‘Head On’, featuring captivating choruses that highlight Robert Jon Burrison’s vocals, pinned down by snappy snare drums.

‘Down No More’ is another of their trademark ballads that tugs at the heart strings, getting more emotional throughout the gospel tinged passages.

‘Help Yourself’ delivers a self help powerful message, flowing along on piano touches and a sumptuous outro guitar solo.

The solace continues with ‘Worried Mind’, a song of unbridled beauty with ethereal parts that defy belief, especially from a gently picked acoustic guitar outro.

‘Give Love’ does what it proclaims as it amorously croons from a sermon like delivery, luscious piano for feelgood vibes, ending on shimmering acoustic guitar.

‘Rager'(bonus track) sees them kick out the jams full throttle, for a race to the finish line from stampede inducing drumming.

‘Hate To See You Go'(bonus track) closes the album on a rock and roll outlaw fist fight until only one stands alone, rocking till he drops towards the finger blistering guitar outro!

Band info, with a digital album pre-order link and tour tickets are here :-

Red Moon Rising album track listing :-

Stone Cold Killer.


Ballad Of A Broken Hearted Man.

Red Moon Rising.

Dragging Me Down.

Head On.

Down No More.

Help Yourself.

Worried Mind.

Give Love.

Rager (CD Bonus Track).

Hate To See You Go (CD Bonus Track).

Robert Jon & The Wreck Band personnel :

Robert Jon Burrison – Lead Vocals/Guitar.

Andrew Espantman – Drums/Backing Vocals.

Henry James Schneekluth – Lead Guitar/Vocals.

Warren Murrel – Bass Guitar.

Jake Abernathie – Keyboards.

Robert Jon & The Wreck have consistently delivered groundbreaking music since forming in 2011, point proven by their latest studio album Red Moon Rising.

About Dennis Jarman

Full time downtrodden album/gig reviewer and part time rock God!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.