Hammerfall – Infected (CD)

Hammerfall – Infected
This is Hammerfall’s eighth studio album. After almost ten years of working together Charlie Bauerfield didn’t produce this album. ”We took this step heavy-hearted, but it was inevitable in our opinion”, guitarist Oscar Dronjak explains. ”Because after such a long time of collaboration, routine was about to get into the production flow. And there is nothing more lethal for an artist than things becoming routine!” As a result of this, Dronjak filled the producer’s role together with guitarist Pontus Nogren, assisted by James Michael (Scorpions, Mötley Crüe, Sixx: A.M.) as co-producer. The drums were recorded in Bohus Studios in Kungälv together with Tobias Lindell (Europe, Mustasch, Hardcore Superstar).
After downloading the album I had to wait until the day after to listen to it properly and it was killing me. I’ve been looking forward to getting my hands on this album since it was announced and I wasn’t disappointed. From the first song this is definitely Hammerfall. Even though it was produced differently from the earlier albums, it still has their sound. Saying that, it’s not like everything merges into one. The production is very good, it sounds clean yet powerful, nothing is lost. This is power metal at its best. The solos are there as part of the songs and not just fitted in somewhere because they should be. Hammerfall’s 80’s roots show through on this album but without sounding dated. All in all this is an excellent album. It’s also a good introduction to the uneducated masses by driving around with the window open and stereo cranked up to 11!


Track Listing:

01. Patient Zero
02. Bang Your Head
03. One More Time
04. The Outlaw
05. Send Me A Sign
06. Dia De Los Muertos
07. I Refuse
08. 666 – The Enemy Within
09. Immortalized
10. Let’s Get It On
11. Redemption

Due for release 20/5/11 on Nuclear Blast.

About Snake

Live music photographer and staff member of www.planetmosh.com