Progressive Music Awards 2016 – David Gilmour, Rush, Steven Wilson and King Crimson Among Those Nominated

Progressive Music Awards 2016, Voting Now Open at

David Gilmour, Rush, Steven Wilson and King Crimson Among Those Nominated, Prog Fan, TV’s Matthew Wright Returns As Host.

To be held at the Underglobe (beneath The Globe Theatre) Thursday September 1, 2016


Every Voter Is Entered Into A Free Prize Draw To Win A Bumper Goodie Bag Featuring Something From Every Nominated Band


June 2016 – Prog Magazine – the world’s leading authority of progressive rock – has announced the nominations for the fifth annual Progressive Music Awards, which returns to the Underglobe at the Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre for a third year, on Thursday 1 September.


With voting open now at, the Progressive Music Awards has developed into one of the best attended and most anticipated events in the musical calendar. From those acts making their first tentative forays into the wider musical world, to the prog overlords who have been there, done it and are now receiving a well deserved slap on the back for their endeavours. And everyone who votes will be in with the chance of winning a bumper goodie bag with something in it from EVERY nominated artist – that is some 54 items!


In its short but illustrious five year history, some of the best-selling artists of all time have attended and been honoured including Peter Gabriel, Tony Banks, Rick Wakeman, Ian Anderson and Roy Wood. Matthew Wright, star of Channel 5’s flagship show The Wright Stuff, and prog uber fan, returns as the host.


This year sees Big Big Train, Dream Theater and King Crimson lead nominations with all receiving three nominations each, and going head to head for Live Event and Band/Artist of the Year. Ten artists including Steven Wilson, Opeth, Riverside and TesseracT all receive two nominations each in what looks to be one of the most unpredictable years yet.


Jerry Ewing, Editor of Prog Magazine, says, “Prog’s biggest night of the year is back! I’m delighted Matthew [Wright] will be joining us again as host, as we honour the great and good of the progressive music world. But this is an event that is as much for prog fans as it is the artists themselves, they have the ultimate say in who wins the accolades on the night and need to make sure their voice is heard by voting, and remember, by casting their vote, they are in with the chance of winning an incredible goodie bag.”


There are 14 categories in total with seven voted for by the readers of Prog Magazine. The nominations are…


LIMELIGHT sponsored by Kscope (These rising prog stars have all been featured in the new band Limelight feature over the past 12 months)

Tiger Moth Tales




Good Tiger

The Anchoress

The Aaron Clift Experiment

Lithium Dawn

Tiny Giant

Tom Slatter


LIVE EVENT sponsored by Stage (All the world’s a stage, and these prog shows absolutely thrived under the spotlight this year)

Rush – R40 Tour

Ramblin’ Man Fair 2015

Big Big Train Live At King’s Place

David Gilmour – Royal Albert Hall Shows

King Crimson – UK Tour

Opeth – Theatre Royal, Drury Lane

Steven Wilson – Royal Albert Hall Shows

Night Of The Prog 2015

Dream Theater – The Astonishing Live

RoSFest 2016


VANGUARD (Bands already hailed in prog circles and now pushing for wider attention in the mainstream)

IO Earth

The Fierce & The Dead

Caligula’s Horse






Bent Knee

The Mute Gods


ANTHEM (Prog comes in all shapes and sizes. Long and complex, or short and catchy, these are the ten best tunes we’ve heard in the last year)

Hexvessel – Transparent Eyeball

This Oceanic Feeling – Put Down The Gun

Riverside – Towards The Blue Horizon

Theo Travis’ Double Talk – Smokin’ At Klooks

Bruce Soord – Field Day

Headspace – Kill You With Kindness

Andy Jackson – Drownings

The Mute Gods – Praying To A Mute God

Motorpsycho – Big Black Dog

Knifeworld – I Must Set Fire To Your Portrait


ALBUM OF THE YEAR (These are the albums that really gripped us over the past year)

TesseracT – Polaris

Hawkwind – The Machine Stops

Dream Theater – The Astonishing

Messenger – Threnodies

Haken- Affinity

iamthemorning – Lighthouse

Big Big Train – Folklore

Between The Buried & Me – Coma Ecliptic

Purson – Desire’s Magic Theatre

Anderson/Stolt – Invention Of Knowledge


BAND/ARTIST OF THE YEAR (The very best artists from the vast prog arena)

Big Big Train

King Crimson

Steven Wilson

Dream Theater






Between The Buried & Me


THE STORM THORGERSON GRAND DESIGN AWARD (Like the man this award is named after, these sets and collections strive for great artistic heights)

Peter Gabriel – Vinyl Reissues

Anthony Phillips – Reissue Series

Steve Hackett – Premonitions – The Charisma Years

Magma – Konzert Zund

Opeth – Deliverance & Damnation

King Crimson – Thrak Box

Tony Banks – A Chord Too Far

Irmin Schmidt – Electroviolet

Porcupine Tree – The Delerium Years 1994-1997

Rick Wakeman – Journey To The Centre Of The Earth Box Set

About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at Manager of The Goddanm Electric, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.