Planet Fatale – New Single “Fight Club” Out Now

Following the release of their debut album The Cycle Repeats, Planet Fatale is thrilled to announce the launch of their third single Fight Club today. To coincide with the announcement, the band is excited to present the accompanying video, which can be viewed here:

Planet Fatale – Fight Club (Official Video)

Fight Club is taken from the recently released album The Cycle Repeats, and it seamlessly blends the iconic heavy metal roots of the band’s sound with thrash metal influences, making this single one of the heaviest tracks on the record. 

The band comments: “This is a high energy track, full of heavy, driving guitars, pounding bass and relentless drums, and it’s a favourite of ours to play live. It’s also a track that came with an embedded narrative. The lyrics tell the story of someone down on their luck who is offered an opportunity too good to be true. The video idea kinda wrote itself! We worked with the fantastic Marianne Harris again on the official music video, which was hands down the biggest video production we have done to date. We recruited MMA fighters and a load of extras for various roles, plus wrote in a special role for each band member, and the final video really does exude that raw energy we feel in the track. It’s a full-on narrative video with brutal fight scenes, an elite underground fighting ring and some band performance thrown in for good measure! A lot of fun to film this one!

The Cycle Repeats was produced by Russ Russell (Napalm Death, The Wildhearts, Raging Speedhorn), and is the product of two years of solid writing. Sitting on the darker and heavier side of the rock spectrum, Planet Fatale’s soundscape is exciting and unique; taking inspiration from all corners of rock, including alternative metal, stoner rock and blues, The CycleRepeatsis a collection of 10 tracks fueled by heavy riffs, rhythmic grooves, dramatic solos, all led by the fierce vocals of lead singer Hels. 

The five-piece, Planet Fatale, was founded in Cambridge in early 2019, with members from previous rock/metal outfits Powderhead (Hels – Vocals, Miller – Bass, Ollie – Drums), Unit 9 (Simon – Guitar) and Salamander (Chris – Guitar). Starting out under the moniker ‘Powderhead’, in their first year they released two singles, Shotgun Riders (April 2019) and Smash My Face (November 2019); alongside a live EP, Live Powder (November 2019). 

To celebrate the new album release, the band will embark on a headline UK tour, the first since the pandemic started in 2020. Planet Fatale is self-confessed gig addict that thrives on the live stage, feeding off the audience interaction. In 2021 Planet Fatale promise to deliver a show full of intense, raw energy and relentless performance. UK dates below.

The band comments: “We are absolutely bursting to get back out on the road, so expect us to be hitting the stage with all we’ve got on this tour, it’s gonna be one hell of a ride! After two singles and a live EP, this album is our biggest and heaviest release to date, perfectly captured by producer Russ Russell, and it rocks! We just can’t wait to release it and show the world what we’ve got! Each track has its own personality, we’ve got some proper moshers in there, which we’re really gonna heavy up live, along with some killer riffs just oozing with groove and the more bluesy numbers. It’s been a journey and we look forward to sharing it with our fans in our favourite place on earth – the live stage! Welcome to the Planet!!

UK Tour Dates
Fri 15th October – Percy’s Cafe and Bar, Whitchurch
Sat 16th October – The Vinyl Tap, Preston
Sun 17th October – Real Time Live, Chesterfield
Thu 21st October – Trillians, Newcastle 
Sat 23rd October – CLAWfest Cambridge-
Fri 29th October – Victoria Bikers Pub, Coalville*non-headline date
Sat 6th November – The Arches, Coventry (Unite Against Hate Festival) *non-headline date
Sat 20th November – The Smokehouse, Ipswich

The Cycle Repeats Track-List
1.    Talking To Myself
2.    86
3.    Break For You
4.    Shotgun Riders
5.    Violation 
6.    Fight Club
7.    Smash My Face
8.    Working Girl
9.    Bleed 
10.  2mm

Tickets are available here
Pre-order The Cycle Repeats here

Planet Fatale are: Hels Johnson – Vocals | Simon Murden – Guitar | Chris Delay – Guitar | James Miller – Bass | Ollie Wallace – Drums

Useful Links:

About Alex English