Members of: Within Temptation, Apocalyptica, Ex: Iron Maiden, Maiden United UK Gigs.

In 2006 the Dutch Iron Maiden fan club asked Joey Bruers (bass) to do a special show; something other than the regular tribute or covers band. Incorporating musicians from several bands they performed a set of rearranged acoustic Maiden songs. The reactions from the crowd were overwhelming.

This idea was born as a show and then became a project. A project to bring all kinds of musicians and fans from all over the world together to celebrate the music. There are now three studio albums and live performances throughout Europe and the Middle East, this project presents classic Iron Maiden songs in a re-imagined form.

It is the opinion of many a reviewer, that Maiden United are not a tribute band.  They may play songs from another “Mega Famous” band, but they have lovingly stripped down each song, and rebuilt them as their own, acoustically and the outcome is simply fantastic. Transforming the songs into something that Iron Maiden fans would have never dreamed of hearing.

Their current singer is UK’s Damian Wilson (Threshold/Headspace). His outstanding vocals and theatrical style is a must see.

The band has an ever changing line-up with various different instruments including, Violin and Cello, musicians from bands like, Within Temptation,  Apocalyptica, Stream of Passion, Ex: Iron Maiden, Threshold and many more.

The bond between everyone is an absolute love for Iron Maiden and their music.  Being musicians they wanted to create something to express their total admiration to their idols, not covers or a copy tribute, but a true tribute from their hearts and creativity.



The musicians that have participated so far are:

Vocals: Damian Wilson (Threshold, Ayreon)

Wudstik (Ayreon)

Anneke van Giersbergen (The Gathering, Devin Townsend)

Marcela Bovio (Stream of Passion)

Paul Di’Anno (ex-Iron Maiden)

Blaze Bayley (ex-Iron Maiden)

Asena Özçetin (Asena)

Guitar: Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation)

Tom Sikkers (Daybroke)

Martijn Balsters (the Dust Connection)

Piano: Marco Kuypers (Cloudmachine)

Thijs Schrijnemakers (Orgel Vreten)

Huub van Loon (Dearworld)

Bass: Joey Bruers (Up The Irons)

Luke Appleton (Iced Earth)

Drums: Stef Broks (Textures)

Lee Morris (Paradise Lost)

Dirk Bruinenberg (Elegy, Place Vendome)

Joe Lazarus (Voodoo Six)

Mike Coolen (Within Temptation)

Thunderstick (Samson)

Cello: Perttu Kivilaakso (Apocalyptica)

Violin: Marcela Bovio (Stream of Passion)


About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at Manager of The Goddanm Electric, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.