Loudness “Eve to dawn” CD

More than 30 years and counting, Loudness are still going strong, these Japanese metal veterans are still finding new ways to deliver good, heavy, fresh and interesting metal. If you haven’t followed Loudness in a while,’ Eve To Dawn’ is a good record to get you back into the band. There is never a dull or uninspired moment on this record.
Opening track “A light in the dark” is fairly quiet though, think of it as the calm before the storm, a slow gentle introduction to Loudness, before “The power of truth” kicks in and smashes your head against a brick wall, Loudness are back.
Minoru Niihara vocals range isn’t as high as it used to be, this is not a criticism, nobody can sing like a wailing banshee forever, we all grow old, and the songs are now written to suit his now more gritty style.
Songs like “Gonna Do It My Way” showcase how great ‘Eve To Dawn’ is. With well written lyrics, stunning guitar solos from Akira Takasaki , and a gritty vocal performance really make this band stand out, again.
The instrumental track, “Emotions”, I feel is one of the best l tracks on’ Eve To Dawn’. Once again, it is Akira Takasaki’s guitar work that makes this song stand out. His playing is simply superb. His playing on this record is exceptionally quick and clean, and very technical, a trademark of Loudness from old.
‘Comes the dawn’ is an epic track, clocking in at a little over seven minutes, this is a true metal masterpiece.
While I don’t they will ever match the success they gained with ‘Thunder in the East’ this is still a corking record, and a telling reminder that this band will not go away quietly.
Time for me to raid their back catalogue, as I had forgotten just how good Loudness are. 8/10

Loudness are:

Masayoshi Yamashita – Bass
Akira Takasaki – Guitars
Minoru Niihara – Vocals
Masayuki Suzuki – Drums

Track listing:

01. A light in the dark
02. The power of truth
03. Come alive again
04. Survivor
05. Keep you burning
06. Gonna do it my way
07. Hang tough
08. Emotions
09. Comes the dawn
10. Pandora
11. Crazy! Crazy! Crazy!
Loudness “Eve to dawn” is out now.

About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at planetmosh.com. Manager of The Goddanm Electric www.thegde.co.uk, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Hammerfest.co.uk. Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.