Jon Oliva – Raise The Curtain

Oliva - Raise the Curtain
Oliva – Raise the Curtain

Like good food at any restaurant if you don’t try it out first how can you judge it? This new release from former Savatage frontman Jon Oliva was something very different for me having never heard his work before. What followed was, I must admit, a bit of a surprise.

The first track on his new album Raise The Curtain just screamed of Rick Wakemans Journey To The Centre Of The Earth to me.  Sorry, but that’s the only way I can describe it.  A good, well-scripted song to start off the album and not what I was expecting with all the intense instrumental music juggling. Track two, Soul Chaser, completely changes the mood, tone and tempo. I thought I was listening to a different group to start with on the same album! Only the fact that Jon Oliva was singing on the tracks told me it was the same band. Perhaps this is Jon Oliva’s way and style? Like I said before, this is the first time I’ve had the chance to hear his work.

As I listened to a few more tracks like Ten Years, Father Time, I Know and Big brother, I was getting a little confused with the way the album was going. I couldn’t pin down the genre of music I was listening to. Some tracks were rock and roll-esque, some were to me fantasial, others felt a little odd with the big band sound using orchestral strings to accompany them.

In general, to an avid Oliva fan this new CD will most likely be a much awaited breath of fresh air, being as it’s his first solo album. Unfortunately I just can’t seem to make the connection to the many different types of music he seems to present to us here. Maybe it’s just me and I’m missing the plot? Perhaps if I keep listening to the new album I’ll eventually grasp what keeps the many loyal fans of his coming back time after time to buy his albums and listen to his magical musical mystery machine!

In all it’s a well presented mix of music I’m sure a lot of people will enjoy.

Raise the Curtain is released on July 2 through AFM Records.

Track Listing:
1. Raise The Curtain
2. Soul Chaser
3. Ten Years
4. Father Time
5. I Know
6. Big Brother
7. Armageddon
8. Soldier
9. Stalker
10. The Witch
11. Can’t Get Away
12. The Truth (bonus track)


Jon Oliva
Jon Oliva

About Dave Bradbery

Dave Bradbery. A writer/Interviewer & contributor to Planetmosh.comMy favorite motto is:-"You can't always get what you want. But if you try sometime, you just might find, you get what you need!" ( Rolling Stones,1969 ) very true words.