Iggy Pop’s Post Pop Depression: Live at the Royal Albert Hall DVD out in October

Iggy Pop PPD Live at the Royal Albert Hall dvd album cover art

One of the big surprises of 2016 came earlier this year when Iggy Pop released his Post Pop Depression album, with the assistance of Queens of the Stone Age‘s Joshua Homme. Homme assembled a studio band for Pop that included fellow Queens member Dean Fertita, along with Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders.

The storied Post Pop Depression collaboration started with a text message from Pop to Homme, who recalled, “It basically said, ‘Hey, it would be great if we got together and maybe write something sometime — Iggy.’”

Homme and Pop began writing and recording together in January 2015, staying private. They financed the project without a record label. Pop related, “We paid for whatever ourselves.” Homme replied, “This was to go where neither of us had gone before. That was the agreement. And to go all the way.”

Joined live by Queens guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen and ZwanChavez guitarist Matt Sweeney, ‘forefather of punk’ Pop hit the road with his cadre.

To The New York Times, Homme prognosticated, of the tour, “There won’t be hardly any shows, and they won’t be in big places, and you won’t be able to get a ticket. So, almost everyone won’t see it. It will be like trying to catch smoke in your hands. And that makes it even better. It will be special, and it will be over in the blink of an eye.”

Now, fans who missed the tour or would like to have a memento are having their wish granted with the release of a CD/DVD/Blu-Ray offering, Post Pop Depression: Live at the Royal Albert Hall.

Eagle Rock Entertainment will release the live document on Oct. 28 in DVD + 2CD, Blu-Ray + 2CD and digital formats. The concert video captures the music legend in prime form as he plays one of the most memorable shows of his tour at London’s revered Royal Albert Hall. The show features selections from the new album, as well as some of Pop’s most well-known classics, including “The Passenger”.

The 22-song set opens with the Pop staple “Lust for Life,” and also includes such standouts as “Sister Midnight,” “Gardenia,” “China Girl,” “Nightclubbing,” “Success,” “Tonight” and more.

Homme told The Guardian, “Lemmy is gone. Bowie is gone. (Iggy) is the last of the one-and-onlys. It took balls to be him: a little guy with a big dick scaring people in Detroit. Everyone should take a knee for Iggy. He deserves it. He never got (the respect or the acclaim), mostly by his own hand, but he made the shit that’s spawned more bands than any other person, ever. Bring on the statues, you motherfuckers!”

The Guardian called the DVD “a five-star spectacle that proves just how peerless Iggy Pop is.” Post Pop Depression: Live at the Royal Albert Hall can be pre-ordered in both DVD and Blu-Ray formats.

Track Listing:
1. “Lust for Life”
2. “Sister Midnight”
3. “American Valhalla”
4. “Sixteen”
5. “In the Lobby”
6. “Some Weird Sin”
7. “Funtime”
8. “Tonight”
9. “Sunday”
10. “German Days”
11. “Mass Production”
12. “Nightclubbing”
13. “Gardenia”
14. “The Passenger”
15. “China Girl”
16. “Break Into Your Heart”
17. “Fall in Love With Me”
18. “Repo Man”
19. “Baby”
20. “Chocolate Drops”
21. “Paraguay”
22. “Success”

Band Lineup (Live):
Iggy Pop – vocals
Joshua Homme – guitar, backing vocals
Dean Fertita – guitar, bass guitar, backing vocals
Troy Van Leeuwen – keyboards, synth, tambourine, guitar, backing vocals
Matt Sweeney – bass guitar, backing vocals, guitar
Matt Helders – drums, backing vocals

Special thanks to Loudwire, The Guardian, and The New York Times for contributing to this report.

About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at planetmosh.com. Manager of The Goddanm Electric www.thegde.co.uk, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Hammerfest.co.uk. Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.