Frank Black and the Catholics 25th anniversary deluxe edition, plus ‘True Blue’ released on vinyl for the first time

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of Frank Black and the Catholics debut album Demon Records proudly release a 180g heavyweight vinyl, half speed master, on 19th January 2024.

This is the first-ever re-issue of their self-titled album as a stand-alone vinyl release. The record has been mastered from the original tapes by Phil Kindrade at Air Studios, and this beautifully presented album is accompanied by a 5-page booklet and an Obi Strip.

Frank Black And The Catholics

announce 25th Anniversary edition of their debut album


19th January 2024


‘True Blue’

released on vinyl for the first time ever

with exclusive bonus 7” single 

on 24th November 2023

Side 1

  1. All My Ghosts 
  2. Back To Rome
  3. Do You Feel Bad About It?
  4. Dog Gone
  5. I Gotta Move 
  6. I Need Peace

Side 2

  1. King And Queen of Slam
  2. Six Sixty Six 
  3. Solid Gold
  4. Steak n’ Sabre
  5. Suffering 
  6. The Man Who Was Too Loud 

Cat No: DEMREC1153


True Blue tracklist
Side 1

  1. Black Letter Days
  2. California Bound
  3. Chip Away Boy
  4. Cold Heart Of Stone
  5. How You Went So Far
  6. Jane The Queen Of Love

Side 2

  1. Jet Black River
  2. Southbound Bevy
  3. The End Of Miles
  4. The Farewell Bend
  5. Valentine And Garuda
  6. Whispering Weeds

7” – Studio Outtakes
Side A 1.
The Black Rider 2.
Song Of The Shrimp
Side B 1.
John The Revelator

Cat No: DEMREC1106

Originally released in 1998, the backing group on this album performed on Frank Black’s previous album, The Cult Of Ray but the group name was first adopted on this release. Raw garage punk energy recorded live to two-track tape over the course of two days was initially intended as a series of demos. Black decided that they couldn’t be improved upon and released them as they were. This was the first album by a major artist to be commercially released on the Internet.

All of the tracks are original Frank Black compositions except “Six-Sixty-Six”, which is a cover of a song by Larry Norman. Frank Black had long admired Norman, naming the first Pixies mini-album Come On Pilgrim, after a line in a Norman song. 

On 24th November 2023 Demon Records released Frank Black And The Catholics ‘True Blue’ album, which has never been previously available on vinyl. 

True Blue’ is a collection of songs originally intended as technical demos for the Catholics’ acclaimed ‘Black Letter Days’ album. Recorded in 2001, live to 1-track tape at the legendary Sound City Studios, the recordings capture raw and captivating performances by Frank Black and the Catholics on songs including ‘California Bound’, ‘The End Of Miles’, and ‘Cold Heart Of Stone’. 

Previously only available as a bonus CD in ‘The Complete Recordings’ boxset, ‘True Blue’ is an essential release for Frank Black fans and offers a glimpse into a studio session with the Catholics. 

The album has been lovingly pressed on 140g vinyl, newly remastered by Phil Kinrade and cut by Cicely Balston at AIR Mastering. Presented in a textured reverse board sleeve with new artwork by Mark Reynolds, and exclusive liner notes by producer Ben Mumphrey. 

Also, included is a bonus 7” single featuring three studio outtakes, including a previously unreleased version of ‘The Black Rider’ and Blind Willie Johnson’s classic gospel blues classic ‘John The Revelator

To pre-order the Frank Black And The Catholics’ debut album go to

To pre-order ‘True Blue’ go to:

About Alex English