Creedence clearwater revival – The complete studio albums (Half speed master vinyl)

Creedence clearwater revival

Reviewed by:
On 16 November 2018
Last modified:16 November 2018


Seven great albums reissued as the best possible quality vinyl

It’s hard to beleive that Creedence Clearwater Revival only existed for a few short years – in the period from 1968 to 1972 they managed to record and release seven studio albums. These weren’t low quality albums just rushed out – they include plenty of fantastic songs that have stood the test of time and are still played regularly today, including “Proud Mary”, “Bad moon rising”, “Fortunate son”, “Up around the bend”, “Born on the bayou” and more.

A new vinyl box set is being released later this month, featuring all seven studio albums. Each 180-gram LP has been mastered at half-speed at Abbey Road Studios – an exacting process that allows for an exceptional level of sonic clarity. The set also features an 80-page book with new liner notes and archive photos.

There’s no doubting the legacy of Creedence Clearwater Revival – they’re still played regularly on US radio stations and have sold over 26 million records in the US alone and have had their songs covered by acts as diverse as Tina Turner and Hanoi Rocks.

It’s an impressive release – over the years there have been countless “best of” releases, but I don’t recall ever seeing a complete album collection release before. For vinyl lovers the high quality process used means this is as good as it gets in terms of quality. It’s not cheap (around £170), but then again these days vinyl rarely is and you’re paying for quality here not just for great music.

For vinyl loving Creedence Clearwater Revival fans, this is a great release.

Disc: 1
1. I Put a Spell On You
2. The Working Man
3. Susie Q
4. Ninety-nine and a Half (Won’t Do)
5. Get Down Woman
6. Porterville
7. Gloomy
8. Walk On the Water

Disc: 2
1. Born On the Bayou
2. Bootleg
3. Graveyard Train
4. Good Golly Miss Molly
5. Penthouse Pauper
6. Proud Mary
7. Keep On Chooglin’

Disc: 3
1. Green River
2. Commotion
3. Tombstone Shadow
4. Wrote a Song for Everyone
5. Bad Moon Rising
6. Lodi
7. Cross-tie Walker
8. Sinister Purpose
9. The Night Time Is the Right Time

Disc: 4
1. Down On the Corner
2. It Came Out of the Sky
3. Cotton Fields
4. Poor Boy Shuffle
5. Feelin’ Blue
6. Fortunate Son
7. Don’t Look Now (It Ain’t You Or Me)
8. The Midnight Special
9. Side O’ the Road
10. Effigy

Disc: 5
1. Ramble Tamble
2. Before You Accuse Me
3. Travelin’ Band
4. Ooby Dooby
5. Lookin’ Out My Back Door
6. Run Through the Jungle
7. Up Around the Bend
8. My Baby Left Me
9. Who’ll Stop the Rain
10. I Heard It Through the Grapevine
11. Long As I Can See the Light

Disc: 6
1. Pagan Baby
2. Sailor’s Lament
3. Chameleon
4. Have You Ever Seen the Rain?
5. (Wish I Could) Hideaway
6. Born to Move
7. Hey Tonight
8. It’s Just a Thought
9. Molina
10. Rude Awakening #2

Disc: 7
1. Lookin’ for a Reason
2. Take It Like a Friend
3. Need Someone to Hold
4. Tearin’ Up the Country
5. Someday Never Comes
6. What Are You Gonna Do
7. Sail Away
8. Hello Mary Lou
9. Door to Door
10. Sweet Hitch-hiker

Seven great albums reissued as the best possible quality vinyl

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.