COUNTESS Release ‘Sermons Of The Infidel’ CD: An Exclusive Collection Of Re-Recorded Classics


‘Sermons Of The Infidel’ contains a selection of 15 songs from Countess’ past. These tracks were selected by the band and all – save two live songs – were recorded again specifically for this album, throughout 2013 and 2014.

Eight of these tracks were released in 2013 as a digital-only EP. Due to popular demand, the band decided to release a physical version as well. The original eight tracks have been remixed and remastered and seven tracks have been added: five more new versions of Countess classics – including a Manilla Road cover – and two live songs, recorded at the ‘Metal Magic’ festival in Denmark this year.

Though not an anthology in the strictest sense, this record does include many highlights from the band’s extensive discography. It is therefore a perfect record for those who aren’t familiar with Countess yet to get a first taste of the band’s unique take on metal.

‘Sermons Of The Infidel’ is released exclusively as a digipak with an 8-page booklet. The album is out now.

To get a taste of the album, head over to Countess’ official YouTube channel for a video of ‘Bloed In De Sneeuw’. This perhaps Countess’ most well-known song as well as the first-ever Black Metal song with lyrics in Dutch. The original version was released on the band’s sophomore album twenty years ago.


‘Sermons Of The Infidel’ is out now and available from, and


Full track list:

1. Hymn To The Gods Of Yore

2. Trumpets Of Dawn

3. I Am The Infidel

4. Child Of The Millennia

5. Son Of The Dragon

6. Sermon Of The Devil Preacher

7. Alone Against The World

8. Thermopylae

9. City Of Satan

10. Chosen By The Gods

11. Chapel Of Doom

12. Bloed In De Sneeuw

13. The Veils Of Negative Existence

14. Feuer Und Blut (live)

15. Hell’s Rock & Roll (live)


About Countess:

Countess is a Dutch band that has been unleashing metal music upon the world since 1992. Countess’ unique and harsh style of metal, characterized by an uncompromising loyalty to the old Heavy Metal and Black Metal traditions but by no means unoriginal, has certainly gone through changes over the years, but its essence has always remained the same.

The most important influences of Countess are the old Black Metal legends like Venom, Bathory and Hellhammer and traditional Heavy Metal bands like Manowar and Manilla Road.

Since 1993, Countess has released fourteen full-length albums. The most recent record, ‘Ancient Lies And Battle Cries’, was released this year.

In 2014 Countess also took to the stage again for the first time in more than sixteen years, including  succesful shows at the ‘Veneration Of The Dead’ festival in Rotterdam, ‘Under The Black Sun’ in Berlin and ‘Metal Magic’ in Denmark.

Currently, the band is rehearsing for more upcoming shows as well as working on new material. After 22 years, Countess is still going strong.


Countess on the web:

About Linda Heron

London Photographer and News Editor for Planet Mosh.