BROTHERS BORN Release Debut Album ‘Knife Wounds’ on 24th Feb

Brothers Born
Brothers Born

From the creative minds of Joel Stroetzel (Killswitch Engage) and Michael Wyzik (Red Door Exchange, Storm The Ohio) comes Brothers Born, a new indie-rock band who will release their debut album, Knife Wounds, on February 24th via Nine Mile Records. In anticipation, the guys have premiered a new song titled “Parachute” today with


Stream “Parachute” now at


The newly formed duo featuring Killswitch Engage’s revered metal guitarist Stroetzel and country-tinged singer-songwriter Wyzik formed after becoming friends and hanging out at the legendary Brass Cat pub near their hometown of Easthampton, MA. The two soon realized an affinity for similar musical influences: the dark, folky sounds of Tom Waits and Nick Cave, as well as anthemic rock from artists like Longwave, The Church and Blue Nile.


The duo began writing and recording songs in Stroetzel’s studio and emerged with almost two albums’ worth of ideas. Picking their name from a song written by Wyzik’s bandmate Jerry Brookman in Storm The Ohio, they created Brothers Born and began recording in 2012.


Brothers Born is a big departure from the metal of Stroetzel’s Killswitch Engage and the indie-Americana of Wyzik’s bands, occupying a musical middle ground of sorts. Wyzik and Stroetzel play nearly every note on Knife Wounds, with the exception of some background vocals on two tracks.


Knife Wounds is an exercise in musicianship as Brothers Born collectively showcase their years of skillful talent, incorporating what they’ve learned into a melting pot of dark, soulful indie rock. Songs like “Knife Wounds” and “Parachute” resonate a cathartic, honest listening experience for fans.


The band will be performing an album release show at The Iron Horse in Northampton, MA on February 27th and will announce additional dates soon. Follow Brothers Born at for more information.


Knife Wounds Track List:

1.     In A Moment

2.     Knife Wounds

3.     Parachute

4.     With Bated Breath

5.     To Lay It Down

6.     Lonely Highway

7.     The Border Lord

8.     Until There’s Nothing Left

9.     Running Into a Burning House

10.   8 Am Tail Lights

11.   Before Your Eyes


Brothers Born Tour Dates:

Feb 27 – Northampton, MA – The Iron Horse (Album Release Show)


For More Information:

About Linda Heron

London Photographer and News Editor for Planet Mosh.